Ian McWhinney Family Medicine Education Award

Dr Paul Humphries, CCFP, Spruce Grove, AB, FMF 2016 Vancouver

Supported by the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine of the College of Family Physicians of Canada and by the Ian McWhinney Endowment Fund.

This award is named in memory of Dr. Ian McWhinney, the first Professor and Chair of a Canadian University Department of Family Medicine, (Western University, 1968 to 1987).

The award honours excellence in family medicine education and is presented to a teacher of family medicine deemed by his/her peers to have made a unique and innovative contribution which has had a significant national impact on the development of family medicine education in Canada. 

This contribution may encompass any level or aspect of family medicine education, such as the following:

  • Continuing medical education
  • Teaching
  • Curriculum development
  • Scholarship
  • Administration, etc.

The award will be presented at the Section of Teachers Annual Dinner.

Nomination & Selection Process

The CFPC Section of Teachers Council (SOT) will recommend the recipient of this award to the national Honours & Awards Committee. Nominees will be notified of results in July.

Copyright © 1996-2018 The College of Family Physicians of Canada