Indigenous Resident Leadership Award

This award is supported by the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) through the generosity of Scotiabank and members of the CFPC.

The CFPC Indigenous Resident Leadership Award recognizes a top First Nations, Metis or Inuit resident in Canada who has shown a commitment to a career in family medicine.

The award recipient will be invited to attend Family Medicine Forum (FMF) in Montréal, November 8-11, 2017, and to participate in the Medical Student and Family Medicine Resident Leadership Workshop, as well as other special events for students and residents at FMF.

The selected recipient for the Indigenous Resident Leadership Award will be forwarded to the CFPC’s Section of Teachers Executive for the selection of the Murray Stalker Award.

Selection/Nomination Process:
A selection committee comprised of residents (R1) and faculty representatives from each family medicine residency program is asked to identify their nominees for a Family Medicine Resident Leadership Award.

A maximum of two letters of support from faculty members addressing the nominee’s skills as a leader and orator must be included. One of the reference letters must be from a preceptor of the elective in Indigenous health (preceptor may or may not be Indigenous themselves) and/or scholarly project supervisor indicating leadership in the area of Indigenous Health. These letters of support are an important component in the selection process and should include sufficient information on your candidate’s leadership skills to support the nomination.

Please note: As part of the application process, posters and Powerpoint submissions will not be accepted.

Nominations must be submitted online. Applications must reach the CFPC National Office by June 20, 2017, 4pm EST/EDT. The application window opens on December, 9th.

The Honours and Awards Committee will approve the nominations for these awards and inform the recipients in July.

Copyright © 1996-2018 The College of Family Physicians of Canada