Board Nominations OLD

2018 CFPC Board Officer Candidates

For the November 2018 election, the Nominating Committee will nominate the following individuals to the Honorary Secretary-Treasurer position and the President-Elect position:

Honorary Secretary-Treasurer nominee:

Dr. Catherine Cervin
Sudbury, Ontario

Dr. Catherine Cervin achieved Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 1981 and Fellowship in the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 2000, and completed a master of medical education in 2010. She has a breadth and depth of experience and involvement in activities with the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC), including having been a member of the Section of Teachers Executive, chair of the Board of Examiners, chair of the Honours and Awards Committee, and current Chair of the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine (her term ends in November 2018).

Her involvement with the CFPC has spanned academic and non-academic areas and she has participated in CFPC Board meetings in her capacity as chair of core committees. She brings to the table advanced knowledge of the CFPC; a history of board and governance work (including external roles as Treasurer of the Canadian Association for Medical Education Director of the Board of the Canadian Resident Matching Service and Health Sciences North); experience with strategic planning; an understanding of distributed medical education; a passion for caring for vulnerable populations; and a dedication to social accountability.

Dr. Cervin was appointed the first Vice Dean, Academic, of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) on January 1, 2018. Her priority is enhancing NOSM’s focus on fulfilling its social accountability mandate as part of its academic mission. She joined NOSM in 2011 as Associate Dean, Postgraduate Education, and has served as the Senior Associate Dean at NOSM and Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario. In these roles Dr. Cervin supported residency program directors in the development of excellence in education that meets the needs of the people of Northern Ontario, particularly those in rural, Indigenous, and francophone communities.

She trained at the University of Toronto and at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and worked in various settings, including full-scope family practice in Timmins and Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, before pursuing an academic career in the Department of Family Medicine at Dalhousie University. In recognition of her work, Dr. Cervin received an Award of Excellence from the CFPC in 2010 and a Certificate of Merit from the Canadian Association for Medical Education in 2009.

President-Elect nominee:

Dr. Shirley Schipper
Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Shirley Schipper is the College of Family Physicians of Canada’s current Secretary-Treasurer. She achieved Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 2001. Dr. Schipper has advanced skills and experience in administration; medical education and teaching; strategy development; partnership and relationship building; coaching; and advocacy for future family physicians. Her particular interests are in education and teaching.

Dr. Schipper’s complete bio is available here.

Copyright © 1996-2019 The College of Family Physicians of Canada