The CFPC announces the 2018 Family Physicians of the Year

October 22, 2018

(October 22, 2018, Mississauga, ON) The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine (FAFM) are pleased to announce the 2018 Family Physicians of the Year as the recipients of the Reg L. Perkin Award. Each year 10 recipients—one from each province—are nominated by their peers, colleagues, and the CFPC’s Chapters for their leadership, contributions to patient care, and commitment to family medicine teaching and research.

“We are pleased to honour these dedicated family physicians whose hard work, earnest efforts, and unfaltering delivery of patient-centred care enrich the lives of their patients, families, and the communities they serve,” says CFPC President Guillaume Charbonneau, MD, CCFP, FCFP. “Their professional accomplishments include serving rural and Indigenous communities; providing addiction, emergency, geriatric, obstetric, and palliative care; and teaching and mentoring future generations of practitioners.”

Canada’s 2018 Family Physicians of the Year are:

  • Christy Sutherland, MD, CCFP – Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Michael Allan, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Edmonton, Alberta
  • Warren Huber, MD, MCFP, LM – Humboldt, Saskatchewan
  • Scott Kish, MD, CCFP, FCFP – Ochre River, Manitoba
  • Dieter Poenn, MD, CCFP (COE), FCFP – Little Current, Ontario
  • Danielle LeBlanc, MD, MCFP – Outremont, Quebec
  • Natalie Cauchon, MD, CCFP – Bathurst, New Brunswick
  • Roop Conyers, MD, CCFP – Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia
  • Charles Duffy, MD, CCFP (EM), FCFP – Alexandra, Prince Edward Island
  • Norah Duggan, MD, CCFP, FCFP – St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador

“We commend these 10 distinguished family physicians,” adds CFPC Executive Director and CEO Francine Lemire, MD CM, CCFP, FCFP, CAE. “These family doctors truly exemplify the four principles of family medicine: They are skilled clinicians, they are community-based, they serve as resources for their communities, and they value the patient-doctor relationship.”

The 2018 Family Physicians of the Year will be presented with the Reg. L Perkin Award on Friday, November 16, 2018, in Toronto, at the annual Awards Gala hosted by the FAFM and the CFPC. 

The Family Physician of the Year awards are named in honour of Dr. Reg L. Perkin, who served as the CFPC’s Executive Director from 1985 to 1996. The CFPC has recognized the work of outstanding family physicians with the Reg L. Perkin Award since 1972.

This is a program of the FAFM, through the generosity of its donors and Scotiabank.

About the College of Family Physicians of Canada
The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is the professional organization that represents more than 37,000 members across the country. The College establishes the standards for and accredits postgraduate family medicine training in Canada’s 17 medical schools. It reviews and certifies continuing professional development programs and materials that enable family physicians to meet certification and licensing requirements. The CFPC provides high-quality services, supports family medicine teaching and research, and advocates on behalf of family physicians and the specialty of family medicine.

About the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine
The Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine (FAFM), established in 1994 as the Research and Education Foundation, funds programs and projects in family medicine and supports numerous research grants, scholarships, and awards that recognize the achievements of clinicians, teachers, researchers, family medicine residents, and medical students. Our funding priorities (patient self-management, the Patient’s Medical Home, family medicine research, family medicine education, and global health care via the Besrour Centre) recognize our most important initiatives and have a meaningful impact on improving patient care within Canada and internationally.

Susan Monic
Manager, Communication Services
The College of Family Physicians of Canada
905-629-0900 ext. 432
[email protected]

Copyright © 1996-2019 The College of Family Physicians of Canada