Skip to Main Content

Beginning spring 2020, we are changing some of the logistical aspects of how the Short Answer Management Problem (SAMP) component of the Certification Examination in Family Medicine is going to be delivered. The format and length of this component remains the same as Spring 2019. Only the delivery schedule and the number of delivery sites are changing.

In the spring 2020 examination session, SAMPs will be delivered over a newly expanded three-day window from Wednesday April 15 through to Friday April 17, 2020. This expanded examination window will involve more new locations all across Canada with multiple daily sittings. The SOOs will be delivered nationally at 17 sites on Saturday April 18 and Sunday April 19, 2020.

We are pleased that our SAMP examination company, Prometric, has access to many computerised examination facilities nationally and we are endeavouring to allow candidates to have the option of writing the SAMP component in their home (or as close to their home) community as possible. This change allows us to take advantage of established Prometric computer-testing centers existing in the majority of Canadian urban centers. It increases the overall seat capacity nationally and minimizes the need for using temporary examination sites where candidate experience may not be the same as in established testing centers. It should hopefully decrease travel time and costs for many candidates as most will be able to write their SAMP component in or close to their home community.

Depending on the site, SAMPs will be offered from one to three times each day over this three-day window. Through the registration process, candidates will first be advised of their assigned SOO location and testing-day, so each candidate may then self-select their SAMP location, testing-day, and time of day they themselves determine to be most convenient. (Candidates requiring testing accommodation will still be dealt with on a case-by-case basis and may be assigned by us to a specific SAMP site that is able to meet their accommodation needs.)

The SAMP sitting-at-the-computer time remains 4.5-hours. Once registered and the exam platform is launched, there are 15 minutes dedicated to confirming the candidate’s identity, agreeing to the candidate code of conduct and orienting the candidate to the structure and features of the examination platform. Once the candidate passes through these mandatory orientation screens, the examination writing time of 4 hours and 15 minutes (255 minutes) will begin. The examination has been designed with enough extra time to allow candidates to step away from the examination to use the washroom or stretch, if and when they choose, but the examination clock does not stop.

In order to address perceived concerns about the potential day effect of SAMPs being delivered over three days, additional test-forms will be utilised. Candidates writing the examination on days two and three will be presented with different cases from those who take the examination on day one. The forms will be equivalent in terms of difficulty so the day on which candidates take the examination will not advantage or disadvantage any cohort.

We continue to require candidates to sign their acceptance of the College’s expectations of confidentiality of all examination content multiple times (i.e., at registration, immediately before launching of the examination). The Board of Examinations and Certification takes confidentiality of the examination process very seriously and has awarded Denied Standings to candidates who have shared or received examination content.

I trust the changes outlined above will serve to both further improve the CFPC’s already high-quality assessment of exam candidates and increase the level of candidate convenience


Brent Kvern, MD, CCFP, FCFP
Director, Certification and Examinations | Directeur, Certification et examens
The College of Family Physicians of Canada | Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal
À compter du printemps 2020, nous allons modifier certains aspects de l’administration de la composante des simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP) de l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale. Le format et la durée de cette composante de l’examen resteront les mêmes que lors de la session du printemps 2019. Seuls le calendrier de dates et le nombre de sites d’examen changent.

Au cours de la session d’examen du printemps 2020, les SAMP seront offerts sur une nouvelle période prolongée de trois jours du mercredi 15 avril au vendredi 17 avril 2020. Cette nouvelle période prolongée comprend aussi l’ajout de nouveaux centres partout au Canada, avec plusieurs séances quotidiennes. Les EMS auront lieu à l’échelle nationale dans 17 sites le samedi 18 avril et le dimanche 19 avril 2020.

Nous sommes heureux que Prometric, notre fournisseur de l’examen SAMP, ait accès à de nombreuses installations d’examen informatisées à l’échelle du pays et nous nous efforçons d’offrir l’option aux candidats de se présenter à l’examen SAMP dans leur communauté (ou aussi près de leur communauté que possible). Ce changement nous permet de tirer profit des centres d’essais Prometric établis dans la majorité des centres urbains canadiens, augmentant notre capacité d’accueil globale à l’échelle nationale et réduisant au minimum la nécessité d’utiliser des sites d’examen temporaires où l’expérience des candidats pourrait ne pas être la même que dans les centres d’examen établis. Nous espérons que cela réduira le temps de déplacement et les coûts pour de nombreux candidats, car la plupart d’entre eux seront en mesure de se présenter à l’examen SAMP dans leur communauté d’origine ou à proximité de celle-ci.

Selon le site, les SAMP seront offerts une à trois fois par jour pendant cette période de trois jours. Au cours du processus d’inscription, les candidats seront d’abord informés de l’endroit et de la date de l’examen qui leur ont été assignés ; chaque candidat pourra ensuite choisir l’endroit, la date et l’heure de l’examen qu’il juge le plus pratique. (Les candidats ayant besoin d’accommodements seront traités au cas par cas et pourront être assignés par nous à un site SAMP capable de répondre à leurs besoins).

Le temps à l’ordinateur du SAMP reste 4,5 heures. Une fois l’inscription complète et la plateforme d’examen lancée, une période de 15 minutes sera consacrée à la confirmation de l’identité du candidat, à l’acceptation du code de conduite par le candidat et à l’orientation du candidat quant à la structure et aux fonctionnalités de la plateforme d’examen. Lorsque le candidat franchit ces écrans d’orientation obligatoires, l’examen d’une durée de 4 heures et 15 minutes (255 minutes) commence. L’examen incorpore suffisamment de temps pour permettre aux candidats de s’éloigner de l’examen et d’utiliser les toilettes ou de se dégourdir, s’ils le veulent, mais l’horloge de l’examen n’arrête pas.

Afin de répondre aux préoccupations concernant l’effet potentiel du jour de l’administration de la composante SAMP sur une période de trois jours, d’autres formats seront mis à l’essai. Les candidats qui passent l’examen les deuxième et troisième jours recevront des cas différents de ceux qui passent l’examen le premier jour. Les formulaires seront équivalents en termes de difficulté, de sorte que le jour où les candidats passent l’examen ne profitera ni ne désavantagera les participants.

Nous continuons de demander aux candidats à plusieurs reprises (c.-à-d. en signant la feuille de présence, juste avant de lancer l’examen) de signer une déclaration de confidentialité dans laquelle ils acceptent de ne pas divulguer le contenu de l’examen. Le Bureau des examens et de la certification prend la confidentialité du processus d’examen très au sérieux et a accordé un refus de classement aux candidats qui ont partagé ou reçu du contenu de l’examen.

J’espère que ces changements permettront d’améliorer l’évaluation déjà excellente des candidats aux examens du CMFC et de faciliter l’accès aux candidats.

Brent Kvern, MD, CCMF, FCMF
Directeur, Certification et examens| Director, Certification and Examinations
Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada | The College of Family Physicians of Canada
Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.