Skip to Main Content

  • What is the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)?

    The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is the professional organization that represents more than 40,000 members across the country. The College establishes the standards for and accredits postgraduate family medicine training in Canada’s 17 medical schools. It reviews and certifies continuing professional development programs and materials that enable family physicians to meet certification and licensing requirements.

    The CFPC provides high-quality services, supports family medicine teaching and research, and advocates on behalf of family physicians and the specialty of family medicine.

  • Who are the members of the CFPC?

    Family physicians from across Canada are eligible for membership. Members of the College are those physicians who are licensed in good standing, fulfill annual continuing professional development (CPD) requirements, are engaged in the practice of family medicine, and pay annual fees as set by the CFPC Board. Family medicine residents are also members of the College.

  • How is the College structured?

    The College has 10 provincial Chapters, and Sections of Teachers, Researchers, Residents, Medical Students, and Communities of Practice in Family Medicine. Many members also serve on national and/or provincial committees, which are the primary driving force in the development of family medicine policy, programs, education, research, and advocacy initiatives.

  • What does the College do?

    The CFPC establishes the standards for the training, certification and lifelong education of family physicians. It accredits postgraduate family medicine training in Canada’s 17 medical schools, conducts the certification examination in family medicine, and grants the CCFP designation to those who qualify as specialists in family medicine. In addition, the CFPC is a leading advocate of family medicine and quality health care for all Canadians.

  • What does the College not do?

    The College cannot assist patients in finding a family physician. The provincial College of Physicians and Surgeons may be able to help in this regard. The College cannot offer medical advice or counseling to patients. Patients should contact their family physician for any medical care or advice. The College does not handle complaints against physicians or licencing issues. Contact a provincial College of Physicians and Surgeons for assistance in this area.

  • What is family medicine?

    Family medicine can best be described as personal, comprehensive, continuous care. It is personal, based on the relationship between the patient and his or her family physician; it is comprehensive based on the family physician’s consideration of the whole patient in the context of his or her needs, history and life situation; and it is continuous, based on the long-term, on-going nature of the professional relationship.

  • Is family medicine the same thing as general practice?

    While family physicians are qualified to practise general medicine, they have additional training in the specialty of family medicine as well as a clearly defined focus on comprehensive, continuous care of their patients.

  • What is the Family Medicine Professional Profile?

    The Family Medicine Professional Profile is a position statement that defines the discipline of family medicine, describes the scope of practice and training for family physicians, work arrangements, and highlights our philosophy of care.
     

    Learn more about the Family Medicine Professional Profile

  • What role does the CFPC play in physician education?

    The College sets the standards for education and certification in family medicine and is the accrediting body for the post-graduate training programs in family medicine in each of Canada’s 17 medical schools. The College conducts the certification exam in family medicine leading to the Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CCFP) designation.

  • What is certification in family medicine and what is a CCFP?

    Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CCFP) is the professional designation of the specialty of family medicine. Medical school graduates who successfully complete an approved family medicine residency are eligible to sit the Certification Examination in Family Medicine. Practising physicians who qualify may be eligible to earn certification through a combination of approved training and practice experience. The CCFP designation tells patients that their family doctor has achieved certification and is committed to lifelong learning through professional development that is required to maintain the designation.

  • What other professional designations does the College confer?

    Physicians who have earned certification in family medicine may use the designation CCFP after their names. Certified family physicians with additional training and qualifications in emergency medicine, and upon successful completion of the related exam, may earn the CCFP(EM) designation. In addition, physicians who have been certified for 10 years and meet eligibility guidelines may earn the Fellowship in the College of Family Physicians of Canada (FCFP) designation. The College also awards designations for Certificates of Added Competence in the following domains of care:

    • Addiction Medicine CCFP (AM)
    • Care of the Elderly CCFP (CoE)
    • Emergency Medicine CCFP (EM)
    • Enhanced Surgical Skills CCFP (ESS)
    • Family Practice Anesthesia CCFP (PA)
    • Palliative Care CCFP (PC)
    • Sport and Exercise Medicine CCFP (SEM)
  • How is certification maintained?

    Members of the College are required to meet strict standards of continuing professional development (CPD) consisting of a wide variety of certified activities such as attending courses and participating in educational events. Members must submit evidence of these activities on a regular basis and earn a specific number of educational credits in the Mainpro+® (maintenance of proficiency) program administered by the College.

  • What is Canadian Family Physician?

    Canadian Family Physician is a monthly, peer-reviewed journal of family medicine published by the College to disseminate the latest clinical and educational information, as well as to support and publish family medicine research.

  • What is Family Medicine Forum (FMF)?

    The College hosts the largest annual medical educational conference in Canada–the Family Medicine Forum (FMF). More information can be found on the FMF website.

    The provincial Chapters also host Annual Scientific Assemblies throughout the year.

  • What is the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine (FAFM)?

    To better serve the future of family medicine, the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine ([FAFM] formerly known as the Research and Education Foundation), was established in 1994. The Foundation is dedicated to advancing the discipline of family medicine through research and education initiatives. Contributions to the FAFM continue to fund numerous awards, grants, and scholarships, as well as initiatives to support the training and continuing professional development of medical students, family medicine residents, and family physicians. The FAFM advances excellence in research, education, and service in family medicine through philanthropy and is proud to support the family doctors of today and tomorrow.

    Learn more about the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine (FAFM)

  • What information is available for medical students?

    Information about what the CFPC offers to medical students with an interest in a family medicine career can be found in the “ For Medical Students” section of the CFPC website.


Other questions?

Please contact the CFPC.

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

  • Qu'est-ce que le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) ?

    Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) est l’organisme professionnel représentant plus de 40 000 membres d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Le Collège établit les normes et procède à l’agrément des programmes de formation postdoctorale en médecine familiale dans les 17 facultés de médecine du Canada. Il examine et certifie les programmes et les documents de développement professionnel continu qui permettent aux médecins de famille de satisfaire aux exigences de la certification et de l’obtention du permis d’exercice.

    Le CMFC offre des services de qualité, appuie l’enseignement et la recherche en médecine familiale et défend les intérêts des médecins de famille et de la spécialité de médecine de famille.

  • Qui sont les membres du CMFC ?

    Les médecins de famille de partout au Canada peuvent adhérer au CMFC. Pour être membre du Collège, un médecin doit posséder un permis d’exercice en règle, satisfaire à des exigences annuelles en matière de développement professionnel continu (DPC), pratiquer la médecine de famille et payer des droits d’adhésion annuels dont le montant est déterminé par le Conseil d’administration du CMFC. Les résidents en médecine de famille sont aussi membres du Collège.

  • Comment le CMFC est-il structuré ?

    Le Collège comprend 10 sections provinciales, ainsi que des sections spéciales pour les enseignants, les chercheurs, les résidents, les étudiants en médecine et les Communautés de pratique en médecine familiale. Plusieurs membres font aussi partie de comités nationaux ou provinciaux, qui jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l’élaboration de politiques, la mise sur pied de programmes, l’éducation, la recherche et les initiatives visant à promouvoir les intérêts en médecine de famille.

  • Quelles sont les fonctions du Collège ?

    Le Collège établit les normes qui encadrent la formation, la certification et l’éducation continue des médecins de famille. Il procède à l’agrément des programmes de formation postdoctorale en médecine familiale des 17 facultés de médecine du Canada, administre l’examen de certification en médecine familiale et octroie la désignation CCMF aux médecins admis comme spécialistes en médecine de famille. Le CMFC est également un grand défenseur de la médecine familiale et des soins de santé de qualité pour toute la population canadienne.

  • Quelles sont les fonctions que le Collège n’assume pas ?

    Le Collège ne peut aider les patients à se trouver un médecin de famille. Pour ce service, l’ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de votre province sera peut-être en mesure de vous aider. Le Collège n’offre pas de conseils médicaux ou de services de consultation aux patients. Pour obtenir des soins ou des conseils médicaux, les patients devraient communiquer avec leur médecin de famille. Le Collège ne traite pas non plus les plaintes portées contre les médecins. Pour obtenir de l’aide à cet égard, veuillez communiquer avec l’ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de votre province.

  • Qu’est-ce que la médecine de famille ?

    On peut décrire la médecine de famille comme la prestation de soins personnels, complets, globaux et continus. La médecine familiale est personnelle en raison de la relation qui s’établit entre le patient et son médecin de famille ; elle est complète et globale parce que le médecin de famille évalue le patient dans son ensemble dans le contexte de ses besoins, de ses antécédents et de sa situation ; elle est continue en raison de la relation professionnelle qui s’établit à long terme.

  • La médecine familiale est-elle synonyme de médecine générale ?

    Les médecins de famille sont qualifiés pour exercer la médecine générale, mais ils ont suivi une formation additionnelle spécialisée en médecine de famille qui met clairement l’accent sur les soins complets, globaux et continus dispensés aux patients.

  • Qu’est-ce que le Profil professionnel en médecine de famille ?

    Le Profil professionnel en médecine de famille est un énoncé de position qui définit la discipline. Il décrit la portée de la pratique, la formation et les modalités de travail des médecins de famille, et expose notre philosophie des soins.
     

    En savoir plus sur le Profil professionnel en médecine de famille

  • Quel est le rôle du CMFC dans l’éducation des médecins ?

    Le Collège fixe les normes en matière d’éducation et de certification en médecine de famille. C’est l’organisme qui procède à l’agrément des programmes de formation postdoctorale en médecine de famille offerts dans les 17 facultés de médecine au Canada. Le Collège administre l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale qui mène à l’obtention de la Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CCMF).

  • Qu’entend-on par certification en médecine familiale et qu’est-ce que la CCMF ?

    La Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CCMF) est la désignation professionnelle associée à la spécialité de médecine de famille. Les diplômés en médecine qui ont réussi un programme approuvé de résidence en médecine de famille peuvent être admis à l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale. Les médecins actifs qui sont admissibles peuvent obtenir la certification en combinant une formation approuvée et l’expérience pratique. La désignation CCMF indique aux patients que leur médecin de famille possède une certification et qu’il s’est engagé à poursuivre son apprentissage tout au long de sa carrière en prenant part aux activités de développement professionnel continu requises pour le maintien de la désignation.

  • Quelles sont les autres désignations professionnelles conférées par le Collège ?

    Les médecins qui ont obtenu la certification en médecine familiale peuvent apposer la désignation CCMF après leur nom. Les médecins de famille certifiés qui ont une formation et des qualifications additionnelles en médecine d’urgence et qui ont réussi l’examen requis peuvent obtenir la désignation CCMF (MU). Par ailleurs, les médecins certifiés depuis 10 ans qui respectent les critères d’admissibilité peuvent obtenir le titre de Fellow du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (FCMF). Le Collège confère aussi des désignations aux médecins qui possèdent un Certificat de compétence additionnelle dans les domaines de soins suivants :

    • Anesthésie en médecine familiale : CCMF (AMF)
    • Compétences avancées en chirurgie : CCMF (CAC)
    • Médecine du sport et de l’exercice : CCMF (MSE)
    • Médecine des toxicomanies : CCMF (MT)
    • Médecine d’urgence : CCMF (MU)
    • Soins aux personnes âgées : CCMF (SPA)
    • Soins palliatifs : CCMF (SP)
  • Comment peut-on maintenir la certification ?

    Les membres du Collège doivent répondre à des règles strictes en matière de développement professionnel continu (DPC), exigeant qu’ils participent à un vaste éventail d’activités certifiées comme des cours ou des initiatives d’éducation. Les membres doivent présenter régulièrement une attestation de leur participation à ces activités et obtenir un nombre précis de crédits de formation dans le cadre du programme Mainpro+MD (maintien de la compétence professionnelle), administré par le Collège.

  • Le Médecin de famille canadien … qu’est-ce que c’est ?

    Le Médecin de famille canadien est une revue mensuelle de médecine familiale, révisée par des pairs et publiée par le Collège dans le but de diffuser les toutes dernières données cliniques ainsi que de l’information éducative, et pour soutenir et publier la recherche.

  • Qu’est-ce que le Forum en médecine familiale (FMF) ?

    Le Collège organise chaque année le plus important congrès éducatif en médecine de famille au Canada : le Forum en médecine familiale (FMF). De plus amples renseignements sont affichés sur le site Web du FMF.

    Les sections provinciales tiennent aussi des Assemblées scientifiques annuelles à différents moments de l’année.

  • Qu’est-ce que la Fondation pour l’avancement de la médecine familiale (FAMF) ?

    C’est dans le but de forger un avenir meilleur pour la médecine de famille que la Fondation pour l’avancement de la médecine familiale (FAMF, anciennement appelée Fondation pour la recherche et l’éducation) a été créée en 1994. La Fondation a pour raison d’être de faire avancer la discipline de médecine de famille en soutenant des initiatives de recherche et d’éducation. Les dons versés à la FAMF financent un grand nombre de prix, subventions et bourses, ainsi que des initiatives de soutien à la formation et au développement professionnel continu des étudiants en médecine, des résidents en médecine familiale et des médecins de famille. La FAMF fait la promotion de l’excellence dans la recherche, l’éducation et le service en médecine familiale par la philanthropie, et soutient fièrement les médecins de famille d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

    En savoir plus sur la Fondation pour l’avancement de la médecine familiale (FAMF)

  • Quelle information est offerte aux étudiants en médecine ?

    Les renseignements sur ce que propose le CMFC aux étudiants en médecine qui envisagent de faire carrière en médecine de famille sont regroupés dans la section «  Pour les étudiants en médecine  » du site Web du CMFC.


D’autres questions ?

Veuillez communiquer avec le CMFC.

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.