Skip to Main Content

Social Accountability Working Group

What we do

About the working group

Social accountability refers to the obligation of family medicine to meet the priority health care needs of Canada’s neighbourhoods, communities, regions, and provinces. It goes beyond the direct care family physicians provide to individual patients. It includes working with policy-makers, academic institutions, and communities, to translate a vision of a socially accountable health care system into evidence-based quality care. For care to be socially accountable, it must be equitably accessible to everyone and responsive to patients and community health care needs.

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is committed to meeting the evolving health care needs of all communities and advocating for equitable health outcomes for vulnerable groups, as highlighted in the CFPC’s 2017–2022 Strategic Plan. The purpose of the Social Accountability Working Group (SAWG) is to advise the CFPC on how it should be involved in social accountability initiatives and to explore the needs, opportunities, and barriers, related to social accountability in family medicine and family practice.

CFPC Strategic Plan 2017–2022

Who we are

Chair 

Dr. Ritika Goel, Ontario

Members

Dr. Ian Alexander, Manitoba

Dr. Alex Anawati, Ontario

Dr. Anne Andermann, Quebec 

Madonna Broderick, Ontario

Dr. Sandy Buchman, Ontario

Dawnmarie Harriott, Ontario

Dr. Elizabeth Parenteau, Quebec

Dr. Robert Woollard, British Columbia

College of Family Physicians of Canada staff

Arlen Keen, Manager, Health Policy and Government Relations

Artem Safarov, Director, Health Policy and Government Relations

DJ Grewal, Health Policy Analyst

Resources

Social Accountability Working Group (SAWG) Terms of Reference

The CFPC Social Justice Lens: a tool created by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) to help its committees, working groups, and departments apply the principles of social accountability and social equity to their work; although most practices in family medicine already practise social justice, this tool aims to make these connections even more explicit and ensures work at the organizational level is bound by these principles

Best Advice Guide: Social Determinants of Health: a practical guide that provides family physicians with concrete steps on how to consider and improve patients’ social determinants of health; provides a background on the social determinants of health, including a practical component with suggested clinical, community-level, and population-level interventions

Social determinants of health recommendations: one-page documents that offer micro-, meso-, and macro-level recommendations to address the social determinant of health, prepared by the SAWG

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Groupe de travail sur la responsabilité sociale

Quoi de neuf ?

À propos du groupe de travail

La responsabilité sociale renvoie au devoir de la médecine de famille de répondre aux besoins de santé prioritaires dans les quartiers, les communautés, les régions et les provinces du Canada. Elle va au-delà de la prestation de soins aux patients et appelle les médecins de famille à travailler avec les décideurs politiques, les établissements universitaires et les communautés elles-mêmes afin de bâtir un système de santé investi d’une responsabilité sociale, qui se traduit par des soins de qualité basés sur les données probantes. Pour répondre aux critères de responsabilité sociale, les soins doivent être accessibles à tous et adaptés aux besoins de santé des patients, de la communauté et de la population.

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) s’engage à répondre aux besoins changeants de toutes les communautés en matière de santé et à militer pour que les populations en situation de vulnérabilité obtiennent des résultats de santé équitables, comme le souligne le Plan stratégique de 2017 à 2022 du CMFC. La mission du Groupe de travail sur la responsabilité sociale consiste donc à conseiller le CMFC sur le rôle qu’il devrait jouer dans des initiatives de responsabilité sociale et à évaluer les besoins, les possibilités et les obstacles liés à la responsabilité sociale en médecine familiale.

Plan stratégique de 2017 à 2022 du CMFC

Composition du groupe de travail

Présidente

Dre Ritika Goel, Ontario

Membres

Dr Ian Alexander, Manitoba

Dr Alex Anawati, Ontario

Dre Anne Andermann, Québec

Mme Madonna Broderick, Ontario

Dr Sandy Buchman, Ontario

Mme Dawnmarie Harriott, Ontario

Dre Elizabeth Parenteau, Québec

Dr Robert Woollard, Colombie-Britannique

Personnel du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada

Arlen Keen, responsable, Politiques en matière de santé et relations gouvernementales

Artem Safarov, directeur, Politiques en matière de santé et relations gouvernementales

DJ Grewal, Analyste des politiques en matière de santé

Ressources

Mandat du Groupe de travail sur la responsabilité sociale

Le Point de vue de la justice sociale : Un outil élaboré par le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) afin d’aider ses comités, ses groupes de travail et ses départements à appliquer les principes de la responsabilité sociale et de l’équité sociale dans leurs travaux. Bien que ces principes soient déjà mis en application dans la plupart des pratiques en médecine familiale, cet outil vise à concrétiser davantage ces connexions et à faire en sorte que le travail accompli respecte les principes sur le plan organisationnel

Guide Conseil pratique sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé : Un guide pratique qui fournit aux médecins de famille des mesures concrètes pour évaluer et améliorer les déterminants sociaux de la santé (DSS) des patients. Il retrace l’historique des déterminants sociaux de la santé et propose des interventions pratiques à l’échelle clinique, communautaire et auprès de la population.

Recommandations sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé : Un résumé d’une page préparé par le comité, qui aborde les recommandations micro, meso et macro pour agir sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.