Skip to Main Content

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) delivers exclusive benefits to its members—programs, services, resources, and funding—developed by the College specifically for family physicians.

In addition to offering professional development that enables lifelong learning, the College advocates for family physicians on emerging issues in health care that affect family medicine and recognizes their achievements through honours, awards, and Special Designations. The CFPC also provides support for family physicians, residents , and medical students at every stage of their career.

  • Maintenance of Special Designations

    To maintain and continue using any special designation, all members (with the exception of Honorary members) must:

    • Fulfil the College's continuing professional development (CPD) requirements as determined by the College Board and as defined by the bylaws for the class of membership to which they individually belong
    • Hold a medical license in good standing with the applicable licensing body as defined by the class of membership to which they individually belong
    • Be in good standing with the CFPC
  • Continuing Professional Development

    Members have access to these CPD tools and resources as part of their membership or at a reduced rate:

  • Professional support

    Teachers

    The Section of Teachers (SOT) provides faculty development opportunities, networking events, a newsletter, and resources for family medicine teachers across the education continuum.

    Researchers

    The Section of Researchers (SOR) promotes and facilitates family medicine research.

    Special interests

    Programs within the Member Interest Group Section (MIGS) link members with similar practice interests in particular domains of care.

    Early career

    The First Five Years in Family Practice (FFYFP) Committee supports early-career family physicians by sharing resources on clinical practice, practice management, and work/life balance, as well as tools specific to each province.

    Residents

    The Section of Residents (SoR) acts as a liaison between the CFPC and family medicine residents across Canada. The first year of resident membership is free.

    Medical students

    The Section of Medical Students (SOMS) links the College with medical students at each medical school across Canada. Student membership in the CFPC is free.

  • Member engagement

    Advocacy

    The CFPC is the voice of family medicine in Canada. The CFPC advocates for members by actively promoting family medicine and primary care to elected officials and other decision makers. The College also collaborates with other health care organizations to advance health care initiatives.

    Canadian Family Physician (CFP)

    The official journal of the College, CFP is the only peer-reviewed medical journal in Canada devoted to the specialty of family medicine. Content consists of commentaries, clinical reviews, practical articles, and research articles specific to family medicine. CFP informs members on current issues in the discipline of family medicine.

    Chapters

    CFPC members are also members of the provincial Chapter where they reside. The CFPC supports members through their provincial Chapter offices. The CFPC and the provincial Chapters work with federal and provincial governments, other health care organizations, and family medicine academic and research communities. The Chapters host Annual Scientific Assemblies (ASAs) to provide valuable CPD sessions, programs, and networking opportunities.

    Committees and working groups

    The CFPC has more than 50 committees and working groups dedicated to supporting family physicians and the discipline of family medicine. Members of the College are welcome to participate on College committees and working groups.

    eNews

    A monthly newsletter, eNews keeps members informed on current events in family medicine, the CFPC, and Chapter events and initiatives.

    Honours and Awards

    CFPC members are awarded more than $500,000 in research grants and awards every year through the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine (FAFM).

    Library services

    Through the CFPC's library services, members may request assistance with literature searches and sourcing articles.

    Networking

    The CFPC provides leadership and networking opportunities throughout the year at provincial Chapters' ASAs and during FMF.

    Your member voice

    Join the CFPC ePanel to contribute opinions to CFPC policies and priorities.

  • Special fee consideration

    Special consideration may be available upon request to Active members who are either working part-time (fewer than 20 hours per week, with no other source of professional income) or who will be absent from practice for a period longer than four months during the same billing period.

    • Reasons for practice absence include maternity or other parental leave, illness, disability, or absence from the country for work-related activities. Sabbatical leave does not qualify. Members must apply annually during the billing period to receive the reduced fee. The CFPC will not reimburse members after the billing period. Please contact [email protected] for more information.

 

Certification and designations

  • Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CCFP)

    The College may grant certification in the CCFP to College members who meet at least one of the following criteria:

    • Successful completion of residency training accredited by the CFPC and a pass on the CFPC Certification Examination in Family Medicine or an approved equivalent
    • Meet the College's criteria for practice-eligible candidates as determined by the College Board
    • Successful completion of discipline-specific training in family medicine in a jurisdiction other than Canada that has been approved as equivalent to accredited Canadian training in family medicine; must also hold certification in family medicine or the equivalent qualification from a jurisdiction other than Canada and that is judged to be equivalent to certification in the CFPC

    Eligible members may add CCFP to the list of credentials that follows their name.

    Members who were awarded a Certificate of Special Competence in Emergency Medicine prior to 1987, the date the College first required Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada, may append (EM) after CCFP [e.g., CCFP (EM)].

    Members awarded other Certificates of Added Competence, may append those initials after the CCFP [e.g., for Care of the Elderly: CCFP (COE)].

  • Member of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (MCFP)

    The College may grant the designation of Member of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (MCFP) to members in good standing in any class of membership that requires ongoing CPD as a condition of maintaining College membership. Retired members may continue to use any Special Designation held at retirement.

    Eligible members may add MCFP to the list of credentials that follows their name.

    Members awarded a Certificate of Special Competence in Emergency Medicine prior to 1987—the date the College first required Certification in the CFPC—may append (EM) after MCFP [e.g., MCFP (EM)].

  • Fellowship in the College of Family Physicians of Canada (FCFP)

    Prospective Fellows

    The CFPC accepts Fellowship nominations/applications each year from January to March 31st. Members who currently hold Fellowship in the College of Family Physicians (FCFP) do not need to reapply.

    The CFPC awards the FCFP to those who have been awarded CCFP and who distinguish themselves through outstanding contributions to their communities, their colleagues, and the discipline of family medicine. Fellowship is considered a value of membership and will be bestowed for life as long as the member remains in good standing with the College.
     

    Criteria for Fellowship nomination

    • Must be an active CFPC member in good standing and hold the CCFP designation for a minimum of 10 years prior to the Fellowship nomination
    • Must demonstrate a commitment to at least four of the seven CanMEDS-FM roles (Leader, Collaborator, Communicator, Health Advocate, Scholar, Family Medicine Expert, Professional)
    • Must demonstrate significant contributions to, or through, family medicine such as dedication to the broad range of competencies demonstrated by outstanding family physicians, and to upholding the Four Principles of Family Medicine , namely:
      • Demonstrating clinical expertise
      • Serving as a community resource
      • Serving as a resource to a defined group of patients
      • Building and nurturing the patient-physician relationship in practice


    The modified approach to Fellowship

    In 2015, the CFPC announced changes to the Fellowship application process as a result of the move from Mainpro® to Mainpro+®. As of January 2016, the Fellowship designation transitioned from a Mainpro credit-based criteria to an annual nomination system for achieving Fellowship, as outlined above. In order to accommodate those members who were working toward Fellowship under the Mainpro criteria, the College offers a modified approach to Fellowship until the 2021 application year.


    Eligibility for the modified approach to Fellowship

    • Must be an active CFPC member in good standing
    • Before the application period closes in February 2021, member must have held the CCFP designation for a minimum of 10 years
    • As of December 31, 2015:
      • Member must have been in their second consecutive five-year Mainpro cycle
      • Member must have completed 25 Mainpro-C credits in their two most recent five-year cycles

    Members who are eligible for the modified approach may apply for the Fellowship designation once they have held their CCFP designation for 10 years. The Fellowship Council does not review applications through the modified approach to Fellowship.

    Learn more about the Fellowship application process, review dates, eligibility criteria, or how to join the Fellowship Council on the CFPC Fellowship website.

    Visit the Fellowship website


    Information for current Fellows

    The CFPC recognizes that collectively, Fellows are a valuable resource to the College. With this in mind, the Fellowship Council has been established; it is a voluntary advisory body to which all CFPC Fellows are invited to belong. Any CFPC member in good standing, who holds the FCFP designation, is eligible to participate in the Fellowship Council (including those that are retired from active practice, living abroad, etc.).

    The Council provides an opportunity to network with other Fellows and Council members can also elect to participate in the process of awarding the FCFP designation to future Fellows by joining one of the nomination assessment committees. There are three committees that have been established to support the Fellowship process: the Nominations Review Committee, the Adjudication Committee, and the Appeals Committee.

    Fellows may add FCFP to the list of credentials that follows their name.

  • Certificates of Added Competence (CACs)

    The CFPC is the professional home for family physicians who provide comprehensive, continuing care to their patients as well as family physicians who focus some or all of their practices in certain domains of care that help meet the needs of their patients and communities. While maintaining pride as family physicians and trained generalists, the College acknowledges that the delivery of family medicine services is evolving.

    Certificates of Added Competence (CACs) provide a means of recognizing those family physicians who have achieved a defined level of competence and a commitment to maintenance of enhanced skills in certain domains of care. Members who hold CACs are a valued resource to other family physicians and to patients.

    A CAC credential is conferred by the CFPC and upon receiving this credential, family physicians are authorized to use the CAC designation as long as they maintain their competence through continuing professional development.

    CAC domains of care Designation
    Addiction Medicine CCFP (AM)/MCFP (AM)
    Care of the Elderly CCFP (COE)/MCFP (COE)
    Emergency Medicine CCFP (EM)/MCFP (EM)
    Family Practice Anesthesia CCFP (FPA)/MCFP (FPA)
    Palliative Care CCFP (PC)/MCFP (PC)
    Sport and Exercise Medicine (SEM) CCFP (SEM) MCFP
  • Life Membership (LM)

    Life Membership (LM) recognizes family physicians who are 70 years of age or older and have been College members in good standing for at least 10 consecutive years immediately prior to the date of nomination. Life members are not required to pay annual membership fees. However, for as long as they are still in active practice, they must continue to document and submit Mainpro+ credits.

    Life members may add LM following their names and special designation [e.g., CCFP (LM)].

"The College as a support system really takes the stress away." – Videsh Kapoor, MD, CCFP, FCFP, Vancouver, British Columbia

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) offre des avantages exclusifs à ses membres, sous forme de programmes, de services, de financement et de ressources, conçus spécialement pour les médecins de famille.

En plus de proposer des activités de développement professionnel continu qui permettent aux membres de poursuivre leur apprentissage tout au long de leur carrière, le Collège représente les intérêts des médecins de famille face aux nouveaux enjeux du secteur de la santé liés à la médecine familiale. Le Collège reconnait aussi leurs réalisations grâce aux prix, bourses, subventions et aux désignations spéciales. Le CMFC offre son soutien aux médecins de famille, aux résidents et aux étudiants en médecine à toutes les étapes de leur carrière.

  • Maintien des désignations spéciales

    Pour maintenir une désignation spéciale et continuer de l'utiliser, tous les membres (à l'exception des membres honoraires) sont tenus de :

    • Satisfaire aux exigences en matière de DPC de leur catégorie d'adhésion, fixées par le Conseil d'administration du Collège et définies dans le règlement administratif 
    • Détenir un permis d'exercice médical en règle octroyé par l'organisme compétent selon leur catégorie d'adhésion 
    • Demeurer membre en règle du Collège
  • Développement professionnel continu

    Les membres ont à leur disposition les ressources et outils de DPC suivants. Certains sont compris dans leur adhésion, d'autres sont offerts à prix réduit :

    • Mainpro+ (Maintien de la compétence)
    • Le personnel de soutien de Mainpro+
    • Le Médecin de famille canadien (MFC)
    • Le programme AutoapprentissageMC
    • PearlsMC et ePearlsMC
    • Les exercices Relier l'apprentissage
    • Un calendrier en ligne des activités de DPC certifiées
    • Les services de la bibliothèque
    • Le Forum en médecine familiale (FMF)
    • Les Assemblées scientifiques annuelles des sections provinciales
  • Soutien professionnel

    Enseignants :

    La Section des enseignants propose des activités de développement professoral, des événements de réseautage, un bulletin d'information et des ressources pour les enseignants en médecine familiale de tout le continuum de formation.

    Chercheurs :

    La Section des chercheurs fait la promotion de la recherche en médecine familiale.

    Intérêts particuliers :

    Les différents programmes de la Section des Communautés de pratique en médecine familiale réunissent des membres qui ont des intérêts de pratique communs dans des domaines de soins particuliers.

    Début de carrière :

    Le Comité sur les cinq premières années de pratique de la médecine familiale soutient les médecins de famille en début de carrière en leur offrant des ressources sur la pratique clinique, la gestion de la pratique et la conciliation travail/vie personnelle, de même que des outils qui conviennent à chaque province.

    Résidents :

    La Section des résidents assure le lien entre le CMFC et les résidents en médecine familiale partout au Canada. La première année d'adhésion est gratuite pour les résidents.

    Étudiants en médecine :

    La Section des étudiants en médecine assure le lien entre le Collège et les étudiants en médecine dans toutes les facultés canadiennes. L'adhésion au CMFC est gratuite pour les étudiants.

  • Engagement des membres

    Représentation des intérêts :

    Le CMFC est le porte-parole de la médecine familiale au Canada. Représentant les intérêts de ses membres, il fait activement la promotion de la médecine familiale et des soins primaires auprès des élus et des autres décideurs. Le Collège collabore également avec d'autres organisations du secteur de la santé afin de promouvoir d'initiatives en matière de soins.

    Le Médecin de famille canadien (MFC) :

    Revue officielle du Collège, le MFC, est la seule revue médicale évaluée par les pairs au Canada qui se consacre à la spécialité de médecine familiale. Elle présente des commentaires, des revues cliniques, des articles sur la pratique et des articles de recherche qui portent spécialement sur la médecine familiale. Le MFC tient les membres au courant des derniers enjeux qui touchent la médecine de famille, en tant que discipline.

    Sections provinciales :

    Les membres du CMFC sont également membres de la section provinciale de leur lieu de résidence. C'est par l'intermédiaire de ces bureaux distincts que le Collège soutient ses membres dans chaque province. Le CMFC et ses sections provinciales travaillent en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral, les autres organisations du secteur de la santé et les communautés de recherche et de médecine familiale universitaire. Chaque section tient une Assemblée scientifique annuelle (ASA) où elle propose des séances de DPC, des programmes et des occasions de réseautage.

    Comités et groupes de travail :

    Le CMFC comporte plus de 50 comités et groupes de travail dont la mission est de soutenir les médecins de famille et la discipline de médecine familiale. S'ils le souhaitent, les membres du Collège sont invités à prendre part à leurs activités.

    Cyberbulletin :

    Un bulletin mensuel qui tient les membres au courant des dernières nouvelles dans le domaine de la médecine familiale, des activités du CMFC et des initiatives des sections provinciales.

    Prix et bourses :

    Chaque année, des membres du CMFC reçoivent plus de 500 000 $ en prix et subventions de recherche grâce à la Fondation pour l'avancement de la médecine familiale (FAMF).

    Bibliothèque :

    En ayant recours aux services de la bibliothèque, les membres peuvent demander de l'aide pour effectuer des recherches documentaires et pour trouver des articles.

    Réseautage :

    Tout au long de l'année, le CMFC offre des possibilités de développement du leadership et de réseautage entre collègues lors des ASA des sections provinciales et pendant le FMF.

    Votre porte-parole :

    Pour que vos opinions soient prises en compte dans les politiques et les priorités du CMFC, inscrivez-vous au forum électronique.

  • Droits pour circonstance spéciale

    Les membres actifs qui en font la demande peuvent obtenir une considération spéciale s'ils travaillent à temps partiel (moins de 20 heures par semaine, sans autre source de revenus professionnelle) ou s'ils sont absents de la pratique pendant plus de quatre mois au cours d'une même période de fracturation.

    • Cette absence peut être motivée par un congé de maternité ou parental, une maladie, une invalidité ou un séjour à l'extérieur du pays pour des raisons liées au travail. Les congés sabbatiques ne sont pas admissibles. Les membres doivent soumettre une demande annuellement pendant la période de facturation en cours afin de bénéficier de la réduction des droits d'adhésion. Le CMFC ne remboursera pas les membres si la période de facturation est terminée. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, écrivez à [email protected].

 

Certification et désignations

  • Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CCMF)

    Le Collège peut accorder la Certification aux membres qui répondent à au moins un des critères suivants :

    • Réussir un programme de résidence agréé par le CMFC et l'examen de Certification en médecine familiale ou un équivalent agréé.
    • Satisfaire aux exigences établies par le Conseil d'administration du Collège concernant l'admissibilité par la voie de la pratique.
    • Réussir une formation spécifique en médecine familiale dans un pays autre que le Canada, laquelle a été approuvée par le Collège comme étant équivalente à une formation canadienne agréée en médecine familiale. Le candidat doit également détenir la certification en médecine familiale ou une qualification semblable émise par un pays autre que le Canada et qui est jugée équivalente à la certification octroyée par le CMFC.

    Les membres admissibles peuvent ajouter CCMF aux titres de compétences qui suivent leur nom.

    Les membres qui ont obtenu un Certificat de compétence spéciale en médecine d'urgence avant 1987, date à partir de laquelle le Collège a exigé l'obtention de la Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, peuvent apposer (MU) après CCMF, c.-à-d. CCMF (MU).

    Les membres qui ont obtenu d'autres Certificats de compétence additionnelle peuvent apposer ces initiales après CCMF, p. ex. CCMF (SPA).

  • Membre du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (MCMF)

    Le Collège peut accorder la désignation MCMF (Membre du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada) aux membres en règle de toute catégorie d'adhésion qui exige la participation continue à des activités de développement professionnel continu (DPC) pour maintenir l'adhésion. Les membres retraités peuvent continuer d'utiliser toutes les désignations spéciales qu'ils détenaient au moment de leur retraite.

    Les membres admissibles peuvent ajouter MCMF aux titres de compétences qui suivent leur nom.

    Les membres qui ont obtenu un Certificat de compétence spéciale en médecine d'urgence avant 1987, date à partir de laquelle le Collège a exigé l'obtention de la Certification du CMFC, peuvent apposer (MU) après MCMF, c.-à-d. MCMF(MU).

  • Titre de Fellow du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (FCMF)

    Candidats au titre de Fellow :

    Le CMFC acceptera les mises en candidature au titre de Fellow du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (FCMF) pour 2019 du 2 janvier au 31 mars 2019. Il n'est pas nécessaire que les détenteurs actuels présentent une nouvelle demande.

    Le CMFC confère le titre de Fellow (FCMF) aux membres qui détiennent la Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CCMF) et qui se démarquent par leur contribution exceptionnelle à leur collectivité, à leurs collègues et à la discipline de médecine familiale. Ce titre est perçu comme un avantage de l'adhésion et est accordé à vie, tant que le titulaire demeure membre en règle du Collège.
     

    Critères d'admissibilité au titre de Fellow :

    • Être membre actif en règle du CMFC et détenir la désignation CCMF depuis au moins 10 ans avant de soumettre sa candidature au titre de Fellow
    • Démontrer un engagement envers au moins quatre des sept rôles CanMEDS-MF (leader, collaborateur, communicateur, promoteur de la santé, érudit, expert en médecine familiale, professionnel)
    • Démontrer une contribution importante à la médecine familiale ou par son intermédiaire, telle qu'un engagement envers la gamme de compétences dont font preuve les excellents médecins de famille, et respecter les Quatre principes de la médecine familiale :
      • Faire preuve d'expertise clinique
      • Servir de ressource pour la communauté
      • Servir de ressource pour une population définie de patients
      • Nouer et renforcer la relation médecin-patient dans la pratique

    L'approche modifiée à l'obtention du titre de Fellow :

    En 2015, le CMFC a annoncé qu'en raison de la transition de MainproMD à Mainpro+MD, des changements seraient apportés au processus de demande du titre de Fellow. L'attribution de ce titre, qui était jusque-là basée sur l'accumulation d'un certain nombre de crédits Mainpro, est, depuis janvier 2016, basée sur un processus annuel de mise en candidature, tel que décrit plus haut. Une approche modifiée sera offerte jusqu'en 2021 aux membres qui avaient commencé à accumuler des crédits Mainpro en vue d'obtenir le titre de Fellow.
     

    Critères d'admissibilité de l'approche modifiée à l'obtention du titre de Fellow :

    • Être un membre actif en règle du CMFC
    • Avoir détenu pendant au moins 10 ans la désignation CCMF, avant la fin de la période de soumission en février 2021
    • Au 31 décembre 2015 :
      • être dans le deuxième cycle de cinq ans Mainpro consécutif
      • avoir déclaré au moins 25 crédits Mainpro-C au cours des deux plus récents cycles de cinq ans

    Lorsqu'ils auront été titulaires de la désignation CCMF pendant 10 ans, les membres admissibles à l'approche modifiée peuvent soumettre leur candidature au titre de Fellow. Les demandes faites par l'intermédiaire de ce processus ne seront pas examinées par le Conseil sur le Fellowship.

    Pour en savoir plus sur le processus d'obtention du titre de Fellow, les dates importantes, les critères d'admissibilité ou la façon de se joindre au Conseil sur le Fellowship, visitez le site Web sur le titre de Fellow du CMFC.


    Renseignements pour les Fellows actuels :

    Le CMFC considère que les Fellows forment collectivement une précieuse ressource pour le Collège. C'est dans cette optique que le Collège a mis sur pied le Conseil sur le Fellowship, un conseil consultatif bénévole auquel tous les Fellows du CMFC sont invités à participer. Tout membre en règle du CMFC qui détient la désignation FCMF peut faire partie du Conseil sur le Fellowship (y compris ceux qui ne sont plus en pratique active, qui vivent à l'étranger, etc.).

    Le Conseil offre à ses membres la possibilité de réseauter avec d'autres Fellows et, s'ils le souhaitent, de participer au processus d'attribution du titre de Fellow en se joignant à l'un des comités d'évaluation des candidatures. Trois comités ont été créés afin d'appuyer ce processus : le Comité d'examen des candidatures, le Comité d'arbitrage et le Comité d'appel.

    Les Fellows peuvent ajouter FCMF aux titres de compétences qui suivent leur nom.

  • Certificats de compétence additionnelle (CCA)

    Le CMFC est le lieu d'échange professionnel des médecins de famille qui fournissent des soins complets, globaux et continus à leurs patients ainsi que des médecins de famille qui concentrent une partie ou la totalité de leur pratique à certains domaines de soins pour mieux répondre aux besoins de leurs patients et de leur collectivité. Le Collège est fier ses membres qui sont médecins de famille et généralistes de formation, mais reconnait que la prestation des services en médecine familiale évolue.

    Les Certificats de compétence additionnelle (CCA) permettent de reconnaitre les médecins de famille qui ont atteint un certain niveau de compétence dans des domaines de soins particuliers et qui s'engagent à maintenir ces compétences avancées. Les membres titulaires d'un CCA sont une précieuse ressource pour les autres médecins de famille et pour leurs patients.

    Le CCA est un titre de compétence accordé par le CMFC. Lorsqu'un médecin de famille le reçoit, il peut utiliser la désignation connexe tant qu'il maintient sa compétence par l'intermédiaire d'activités de développement professionnel continu.

    Domaines de soins du CAC Désignation
    Anesthésie en médecine familiale CCMF (AMF)/MCMF (AMF)
    Médecine d'urgence CCMF (MU)/MCMF (MU)
    Médecine des toxicomanies CCMF (MT)/MCMF (MT)
    Médecine du sport et de l'exercice CCMF (MSE)/MCMF (MSE)
    Soins aux personnes âgées CCMF (SPA)/MCMF (SPA)
    Soins palliatifs CCMF (SP) /MCMF (SP)
  • Membre à vie (MV)

    Le titre de membre à vie souligne les réalisations des médecins de famille âgés de 70 ans et plus qui ont été membres en règle du Collège pendant au moins 10 années consécutives précédant immédiatement la date de leur nomination. Les membres à vie reçoivent gratuitement l'adhésion au Collège. Toutefois, tant qu'ils exercent activement la médecine, ils doivent continuer à documenter et à inscrire des crédits Mainpro+.

    Les membres à vie peuvent ajouter MV aux titres de compétences qui suivent leur nom, c.-à-d. CCMF (MV).

« Le CMFC est là pour nous épauler. » - Lina Shoppoff, MD, CCFP Ottawa (Ontario)

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.