Skip to Main Content
Dr. Carrie Bernard

Dr. Carrie Bernard
MD, MPH, CCFP, FCFP

Director-at-Large
Brampton, Ontario

Carrie Bernard, MD, MPH, CCFP, FCFP
Brampton, Ontario
Current Director-at-Large
Nominee for 2022–2023 Director holding the office of Secretary-Treasurer


Dr. Carrie Bernard was elected in 2018 for a three-year Director-at-Large term. She was then re-elected by CFPC members in 2021 for a second three-year Director-at-Large term.
     
The Board has benefited greatly from Dr. Bernard’s skills, involvement, and contributions including:
  • Meeting the needs of the CFPC members and serving patients in Canada
  • Showing interest in governance and having great attention to detail
  • Offering thoughtful and unique perspectives based on her experience with academic initiatives, curriculum and remediation initiatives, activities abroad, and the provision of comprehensive care
  • Encouraging diversity in leadership through outreach activities and ensuring issues of equity and diversity are regularly considered by the board
  • Committing to social justice and providing ethics expertise to all discussions
Dr. Bernard has many skills valued by the Board including practising comprehensive family medicine; teaching; patient and health care advocacy; systems thinking; risk management; ethics; stakeholder engagement; and strategic planning.
Dr. Carrie Bernard received her medical degree from McMaster University in 1997 and completed her family medicine residency at the University of Toronto (U of T). She went on to complete a three-month fellowship in low-risk obstetrics at U of T and received her Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CCFP) in 1999. She became a Fellow of the College in 2013.
 
Dr. Bernard has practised comprehensive family medicine since 1999 in Brampton, Ontario, with the Queen Square Family Health Team. She began teaching medical students and residents in 2003 at her clinic office and at the William Osler Health System, where she is an active staff member.

Dr. Bernard is an assistant professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at U of T and an assistant clinical professor in the Department of Family Medicine at McMaster. She has been involved in family medicine residency accreditation at both universities and served as Associate Program Director, Curriculum and Remediation, for the postgraduate program at U of T from 2014 to 2019.

Passionate about community and global health, Dr. Bernard worked with Public Health Ontario from 2012 to 2019, where she provided expert advice on communicable diseases. She also worked with Médecins Sans Frontières in northern Uganda from 2004 to 2005. Her research interests focus on ethics in medical practice and she is a member of the Humanitarian Health Ethics Research Group, a multidisciplinary team of researchers and practitioners in Canada who explore ethical issues related to humanitarian health care work. She serves as a member of the Ontario COVID-19 Bioethics table, providing expert advice on bioethical issues to the Ontario Ministry of Health.

Dr. Bernard is a reviewer for Canadian Family Physician, and she previously served on the Section of Teachers Council and the Member Interest Group Section Council In 2013 the Ontario College of Family Physicians recognized Dr. Bernard as a Regional Family Physician of the Year.

Dr. Bernard has served on the CFPC Board of Directors since 2018.

No results found.

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal
D<sup>re</sup> Carrie Bernard

Dre Carrie Bernard
MD, MPH, CCMF, FCMF

Administratrice générale
Brampton (Ontario)

Carrie Bernard, MD, MPH, CCMF, FCMF
Brampton (Ontario)
Administratrice générale actuelle
Candidate en tant qu’administratrice de 2022–2023 au poste de secrétaire-trésorière


La Dre Bernard a été élue en 2018 pour un mandat de trois ans en tant qu’administratrice générale. Elle a ensuite été réélue par les membres du CMFC en 2021 pour un deuxième mandat de trois ans en tant qu’administratrice générale.

Le Conseil a grandement bénéficié des compétences, de la participation et des contributions de la Dre Bernard, y compris :
  • Sa réponse aux besoins des membres du CMFC et de ses patients au Canada
  • Son intérêt pour la gouvernance et son souci du détail
  • Sa contribution de manière réfléchie et significative et ses perspectives uniques et importantes basées sur son expérience des initiatives universitaires, des programmes d’études et des initiatives de remédiation ; ses activités à l’étranger et sa prestation de soins complets et globaux
  • Son soutien à la diversité en matière de leadership grâce à des activités de sensibilisation et en s’assurant que les questions d’équité et de diversité sont abordées par le Conseil de façon régulière
  • Son engagement envers la justice sociale et son expertise en éthique qu’elle apporte à toutes les discussions
Le Dre Bernard possède beaucoup de compétences fort appréciées du Conseil, notamment la prestation de soins complets et globaux en médecine de famille, l’enseignement, la défense des intérêts des patients et des soins de santé, la pensée systémique, la gestion des risques, l’éthique, l’engagement des intervenants et la planification stratégique.
Dre Carrie Bernard a obtenu son diplôme en médecine à l’Université McMaster en 1997 et a fait sa résidence en médecine de famille à l’Université de Toronto. Elle a ensuite effectué un stage de perfectionnement de trois mois en soins obstétricaux à faible risque à l’Université de Toronto, puis a obtenu la Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CCMF) en 1999. Elle a obtenu le titre de Fellow en 2013.

Dre Bernard prodigue des soins complets et globaux depuis 1999 à Brampton (Ontario), au sein de l’Équipe de santé familiale de Queen Square. Elle a commencé à enseigner à des étudiants en médecine et à des résidents en 2003, à sa clinique et au William Osler Health System, dont elle est membre active du personnel.

Dre Bernard occupe le poste de professeure adjointe au Département de médecine familiale et communautaire de l’Université de Toronto et celui de professeure clinicienne adjointe au Département de médecine de famille de l’Université McMaster. Elle a participé au processus d’agrément des programmes de résidence en médecine de famille des deux universités, et a assumé les fonctions de directrice de programme associée, Cursus et remédiation, du programme d’études postdoctorales à l’Université de Toronto de 2014 à 2019.

Passionnée par la santé communautaire et mondiale, Dre Bernard a collaboré avec Santé publique Ontario de 2012 à 2019 à titre d’experte-conseil en matière de maladies transmissibles. Elle est aussi allée en mission pour Médecins Sans Frontières dans le nord de l’Ouganda de 2004 à 2005. Ses intérêts de recherches sont axés sur la déontologie dans l’exercice de la médecine. Elle fait d’ailleurs partie de l’Humanitarian Health Ethics Research Group, une équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs et de praticiens canadiens qui explore les enjeux d’éthique liés à l’aide humanitaire en santé. Elle est également membre de l’Ontario COVID-19 Bioethics table, un organe consultatif qui fournit au ministère de la Santé de l’Ontario des recommandations éclairées sur les questions relatives à la bioéthique.

Dre Bernard est réviseure pour Le Médecin de famille canadien. Elle siégeait auparavant au Conseil de la Section des enseignants et à la Section des groupes d’intérêt des membres. En 2013, le Collège des médecins de famille de l’Ontario a souligné ses réalisations en lui remettant le Prix régional du Médecin de famille de l’année.

Dre Bernard siège au Conseil d’administration du CMFC depuis 2018.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.