Skip to Main Content
Dr. Sarah Cook

Dr. Sarah Cook
MD, CCFP, FCFP, CCPE, CHE

Director-at-Large
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Dr. Sarah Cook is a community-based family physician in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories (NWT). After completing medical school at Dalhousie University and her family medicine residency at the University of Ottawa, she received her Certification in the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 2008 and Fellowship in 2018.

The opportunity to live in Canada’s North, work with and learn from Indigenous communities, and practise full-scope family medicine inspired Dr. Cook to move to Yellowknife in 2008. Enhancing access to culturally safe care for patients close to their home communities and helping physicians find innovative solutions to health care challenges are driving forces in her work.

Currently Dr. Cook provides primary care to a remote Indigenous community, both in person and remotely. Her clinical work in Yellowknife includes reproductive health, maternity care, and GP-oncology, working as part of a cancer care team to enable patients in the Northwest Territories to receive chemotherapy closer to home.

Over the past decade Dr. Cook has advanced her leadership skills with formal training through the Canadian Medical Association’s Physician Leadership Institute, the University of Toronto, and the University of Alberta. She served as medical director of the Yellowknife Region from 2015 to 2016 and as the inaugural Territorial Medical Director of the Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority from July 2016 to November 2020—a tenure that saw her become a key figure in the Northwest Territories’ response to the COVID-19 pandemic. She is currently the Clinical Lead of Choosing Wisely NWT and MAiD in the NWT. In addition to her clinical and leadership roles, she holds academic appointments in the faculties of medicine at the University of Calgary and University of Alberta.

Before being elected to the Board of Directors, Dr. Cook’s involvement with the College of Family Physicians of Canada included participating on the Patient’s Medical Home Steering Committee and as the Northwest Territories representative on the Advisory Committee on Family Practice.

No results found.

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal
D<sup>re</sup> Sarah Cook

Dre Sarah Cook
MD, CCMF, FCMF, CCMF, CHE

Administratrice générale
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

La Dre Sarah Cook est médecin de famille communautaire à Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.-O.). Après avoir terminé ses études de médecine à l’Université Dalhousie et sa résidence en médecine familiale à l’Université d’Ottawa, elle a obtenu sa Certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada en 2008 et son titre de Fellow en 2018.

La Dre Cook s’est installée à Yellowknife en 2008, poussée par le désir de vivre dans le Nord canadien, de travailler et apprendre auprès des communautés autochtones et d’offrir des soins complets et globaux en médecine de famille. Son travail est motivé par une volonté d’améliorer l’accès à des soins culturellement sécuritaires pour les patients près de leur communauté et d’aider les médecins à trouver des solutions innovantes aux problèmes de santé.

La Dre Cook offre actuellement des soins primaires en personne et à distance dans une communauté autochtone isolée. Dans le cadre de son travail clinique à Yellowknife, elle fournit des soins de santé reproductive, de maternité et de médecine générale en oncologie. Elle travaille également au sein d’une équipe de soins aux patients atteints du cancer pour aider les patients des Territoires du Nord-Ouest à recevoir leurs traitements de chimiothérapie plus près de chez eux.

Au cours des dix dernières années, la Dre Cook a approfondi ses compétences en leadership en suivant une formation officielle offerte par l’Institut de leadership des médecins de l’Association médicale canadienne, par l’Université de Toronto et par l’Université de l’Alberta. Elle a été directrice médicale de la région de Yellowknife de 2015 à 2016 et a ensuite été la première directrice médicale territoriale de l’Administration des services de santé et des services sociaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de juillet 2016 à novembre 2020. Lors de ce mandat, la Dre Cook a joué un rôle important dans la réponse des Territoires du Nord-Ouest à la pandémie de COVID-19. Elle est actuellement responsable clinique de Choisir avec soin aux T.N.-O. et de l’aide médicale à mourir dans les T.N.-O. En plus de ses responsabilités cliniques et de ses fonctions de direction, elle occupe des postes universitaires aux facultés de médecine de l’Université de Calgary et de l’Université de l’Alberta.

Avant d’être élue au Conseil d’administration, la Dre Cook a collaboré avec le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, notamment en siégeant au Comité directeur du Centre de médecine de famille et en représentant les Territoires du Nord-Ouest au sein du Comité consultatif sur l’exercice de la médecine familiale.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.