Skip to Main Content

Residency Accreditation Committee

Who we are

Chair

Dr. Keith Wycliffe-Jones

Members

Dr. Dany Afram
Dr. Fraser Brenneis
Dr. Elisabeth Boileau
Dr. Douglass Dalton
Dr. Jose Francois
Dr. David Galiano
Dr. Brian Geller
Dr. Jennifer Hall
Dr. Kathy Lawrence
Dr. Anne-Marie MacLellan
Dr. Paul Miron
Dr. Louise Nasmith
Dr. Nina Nguyen
Dr. Danielle O’Keefe
Dr. Alain Papineau
Dr. Karl Stobbe
Dr. Eric Wong
Dr. Cliff Yaffe

Observers

Louise Auger
Geneviève Coiteux
John Gallinger
Sarah Taber
Dr. Marianne Xhignesse

College of Family Physicians of Canada staff

Director, Accreditation
Manager, Accreditation

What we do

The Residency Accreditation Committee (RAC) is responsible for setting the specific standards for family medicine residency programs accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC).

As part of this mandate, the RAC monitors the implementation of these standards through onsite visits and regular communication with the training programs.

The RAC:

  • Reviews and establishes criteria for the accreditation of all residency training programs in family medicine
  • Determines accreditation status of programs accredited by the CFPC as outlined in the Standards of Accreditation for Residency Programs in Family Medicine
  • Determines, along with the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada (Royal College), the accreditation status of institutions with postgraduate programs in accordance with the criteria outlined in the General Standards of Accreditation for Institutions with Residency Programs
  • Maintains ongoing dialogue with family medicine departments and postgraduate medical education offices to provide clarification around standards and to solicit ideas and responses to existing standards and committee initiatives

Maintains ongoing dialogue with the Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ), the Royal College, the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FMRAC) and other relevant accrediting bodies concerning education and accreditation issues of common interest, and works collaboratively with their residency accreditation committees to improve alignment

* This version (July 2018, V1.2) of the Red Book is updated from the previous version shared with family medicine programs dated October 2017 (Prototype 3, Version 1), and includes the addition of intellectual property language, as well as minor editorial revisions. No standards have been added to or removed. The release of the new Red Book allows for adequate lead-in time to the full implementation and application of new standards and processes scheduled for July 2019. Please be aware that the General Standards and Red Book are “living documents” undergoing regular review and revision. Depending on where members’ schools are at in the Accreditation survey cycle, they may be held to a different version of the standards (past or future), reflected operationally in the CanAMS (Accreditation Management System). Programs will be given a minimum of one-year notice in advance of a survey visit clarifying the Red Book version/standards and related processes that will be applied.

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Comité d’agrément des programmes de résidence

À propos du comité

Président

Dr Fraser Brenneis

Membres

Dr Bilal Akil
Dr Maxim Bastarache
Dre Elisabeth Boileau
Dre Aimée Bouka
Dr Douglass Dalton
Dr Jose Francois
Dr Brian Geller
Dre Jennifer Hall
Dre Kathy Lawrence
Dre Anne-Marie MacLellan
Dr Paul Miron
Dre Louise Nasmith
Dre Danielle O’Keefe
Dr Alain Papineau
Dr Karl Stobbe
Dr Eric Wong
Dr Cliff Yaffe

Observateurs

Mme Louise Auger
Mme Geneviève Coiteux
John Gallinger
Mme Sarah Taber
Dre Marianne Xhignesse

Personnel du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada

Directeur/trice, Agrément
Responsable, Agrément

Nos activités

Le Comité d’agrément des programmes de résidence est responsable de fixer les normes particulières pour l’agrément des programmes de résidence en médecine familiale par le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC).

Le comité a notamment pour mandat de surveiller la mise en œuvre de ces normes en effectuant des visites de vérification sur place et en communiquant régulièrement avec les responsables des programmes de formation.

Le Comité d’agrément des programmes de résidence assume les responsabilités suivantes :

  • Établir et revoir les critères pour l’agrément de tous les programmes de résidence en médecine familiale
  • Déterminer le statut d’agrément des programmes selon les critères définis dans les Normes d’agrément des programmes de résidence en médecine familiale agréés par le CMFC
  • Déterminer, avec le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (Collège royal), le statut d’agrément des établissements offrant des programmes de formation postdoctorale conformément aux critères définis dans les Normes générales d’agrément à l’intention des institutions offrant des programmes de résidence
  • Maintenir un dialogue suivi avec les départements de médecine de famille et les bureaux de la formation médicale postdoctorale afin de fournir des précisions sur les normes et de solliciter des idées et des rétroactions relativement aux normes existantes et aux initiatives du comité

Maintenir un dialogue suivi avec le Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ), le Collège royal, la Fédération des ordres des médecins du Canada (FOMC) et d’autres organismes d’agrément pertinents sur des questions d’intérêt commun liées à la formation et à l’agrément, et travailler en collaboration avec leurs comités d’agrément des programmes de résidence afin d’améliorer l’harmonisation

* La présente version du Livre rouge (juillet 2018, V1.2) est une mise à jour de la version antérieure datée d’octobre 2017 qui avait été envoyée aux programmes de médecine de famille (Prototype 3, Version 1). Elle comprend les libellés concernant la propriété intellectuelle ainsi que quelques révisions mineures. Aucune norme n’a été ajoutée ou supprimée. Le nouveau Livre rouge a été publié suffisamment à l’avance de la mise en œuvre complète et de l’application des nouvelles normes et procédures prévues pour juillet 2019. Veuillez noter que les Normes générales et le Livre rouge sont des « documents évolutifs », et feront l’objet de révisions périodiques. Selon où une faculté se situe dans le cycle des visites d’agrément, il se peut qu’elle soit évaluée selon une différente version des normes (passée ou future), qui sera intégrée à des fins opérationnelles dans le logiciel CanAMS (Système de gestion de l’agrément). Les programmes recevront un préavis d’au moins un an avant la visite et seront informés de la version du Livre rouge/des normes et des processus connexes qui s’appliqueront.

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.