Skip to Main Content

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is committed to supporting its members who breastfeed, including those who are candidates for the national certification examinations.

While babies and/or children cannot be brought to examination sites, the College may, with appropriate notice, provide secluded space equipped with an electrical outlet at the examination centre where lactating individuals can express breast milk before, during, and/or immediately after the exam session.
All types of breast pumping devices, including the wearable silicone ones, must be pre-approved by the CFPC to be allowed into any of the computerized test delivery examination sites and are only admitted into the private test accommodation rooms.

Private or secluded spaces for breast milk expression are subject to availability and are not guaranteed at every test location. This means a candidate who wishes access to a private or secluded space must inform the CFPC in advance and be ready to accept assignment by the CFPC to an examination location that is able to accommodate this request.

Depending on the candidate’s personal lactation schedule and the length of the exam session, additional break time may be warranted. If a candidate’s exam session is four hours or more in duration, up to 30 minutes of optional break time may be provided in addition to the standard break allowance. The length of time for the exam session does not change.

No access to a refrigerator to store expressed milk is provided at any of the examination sites. Candidates who will express breast milk are responsible for bringing their own appropriate storage container, such as a cooler. As with any items brought to an examination site, this container will be inspected.

Submitting a request

All requests for test accommodation must be stated at the time of application for the examination. This allows CFPC staff to identify and allocate the required—but potentially limited—resources as fairly and equitably as possible, and to assign candidates to appropriate examination locations equipped to meet stated needs.

All requests for test accommodations stated at the time of application must be corroborated by appropriate supporting documentation, as outlined below, to be received by the College no later than 12 weeks prior to the examination. Failure to submit supporting documentation will result in no test accommodation being provided for that candidate on the day of examination.

Supporting documentation

To evaluate a test accommodation request for lactating individuals to express breast milk during the exam session, the College must receive a written request for accommodation and supporting documentation at least 12 weeks prior to the examination date.

  1. The Request for Test Accommodation form must be signed by the candidate and include a detailed description of the desired test accommodation, (e.g., secluded space, electrical outlet, additional break time)
  2. Supporting documentation confirming the candidate will be nursing at the time of the examination, is to be submitted to the CFPC in the form of
    • a separate signed personal attestation
    • or
    • a signed letter on office letterhead from a personal health care professional, such as
      • family physician
      • lactation consultant
      • doula

Supporting documentation that is not a personal attestation cannot be from a relative or spouse of the candidate.

Requests and supporting documentation may be emailed to [email protected].

Approval and acceptance process

After a request is reviewed, if it is approved the candidate will receive an email confirmation of the approved modification to the standard testing procedure (i.e., the test accommodation) that will be made. Candidates must sign and return a copy of this confirmation, within the timeline specified, agreeing to the specified arrangements. If the approved arrangements do not match the candidate’s expectation, the candidate must follow up with CFPC staff immediately so that any misunderstanding is clarified prior to the examination date.

Candidates must present a copy of their test accommodation confirmation upon arrival at the examination site. Should the agreed arrangement not materialize at the examination site, the candidate should notify CFPC staff as soon as possible.

Test accommodation arrangements approved by the College are not transferable from one exam session to another. A new request must be submitted each time the candidate applies to sit a CFPC examination and will be evaluated independently.
 

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) s’engage à soutenir ses membres qui allaitent, y compris dans le cadre des examens de certification.

Bien que les bébés et les enfants ne puissent pas être présents aux centres d’examen, le Collège peut, avec suffisamment de préavis, offrir un espace privé doté d’une prise électrique pour permettre à une personne candidate à l’examen qui allaite d’extraire son lait avant, pendant ou immédiatement après la séance d’examen.

Les tire-lait de tous types, y compris les modèles portables en silicone, doivent être préapprouvés par le CMFC pour être admis à l’un des centres d’examen informatisé, et ils ne sont autorisés que dans les espaces privés fournis à titre d’accommodement pendant l’examen.

Les espaces privés consacrés aux personnes qui allaitent ne sont pas garantis à chaque centre d’examen en fonction de leur disponibilité. Cela signifie qu’une personne souhaitant utiliser un espace privé doit en aviser le CMFC et doit être prête à se présenter à un centre d’examen où le CMFC peut accommoder la demande.

Des pauses supplémentaires peuvent être demandées en fonction de l’horaire d’allaitement et de la durée de l’examen. Si un examen dure au moins quatre heures, jusqu’à 30 minutes additionnelles de pause peuvent être prises en plus de la pause normale allouée de façon générale. La durée de l’examen ne sera pas modifiée.

Il n’y a aucun réfrigérateur disponible aux centres d’examen pour entreposer le lait. Il faut donc apporter son propre contenant d’entreposage approprié, telle une glacière. Ce contenant doit être inspecté comme tout autre objet apporté à un centre d’examen.

Soumission d’une demande

La demande d’accommodement doit être soumise lors de l’inscription à l’examen. Ceci permet au personnel du CMFC d’identifier les ressources potentiellement limitées et de les répartir de façon aussi juste que possible ainsi que d’attribuer des espaces appropriés pour répondre aux besoins signalés.

Il faut fournir la documentation appropriée pour appuyer tout accommodement demandé lors du processus d’inscription, comme décrit plus bas, et la faire parvenir au Collège au plus tard 12 semaines avant l’examen. Aucun accommodement ne sera fourni si aucun document justificatif n’est présenté.

Documents justificatifs

Afin d’évaluer une demande d’accommodement pour extraire du lait pendant une séance d’examen, le Collège doit recevoir une demande écrite à cet effet ainsi que les documents justificatifs au moins 12 semaines avant la date d’examen.

  1. Le formulaire de demande d’accommodement pour l’examen doit être signé par la personne candidate à l’examen et doit inclure une description de l’accommodement voulu pour l’examen (p. ex., un espace privé, une prise électrique, une pause supplémentaire)
  2. Des documents justificatifs confirmant l’allaitement au moment de l’examen doivent être soumis. Les documents acceptés sont les suivants :
    • une lettre d’attestation signée
    • ou
    • Une lettre, sur papier à en-tête officiel, signée par un professionnel de soin de santé, par exemple :
      • Un médecin de famille
      • Une consultante en allaitement
      • Une doula

Les documents justificatifs qui ne sont pas une lettre d’attestation ne peuvent pas provenir de professionnels ayant un lien parental ou conjugal.

Les demandes d’accommodement et les documents justificatifs peuvent être envoyés à [email protected].

Processus d’approbation

Si la demande d’accommodement est approuvée, la personne sera avisée par courriel de la modification qui sera apportée à l’administration de l’examen (c.-à-d., l’accommodement). Elle devra signer et renvoyer une copie de cette confirmation dans les délais précisés afin d’accepter l’accommodement. Si l’accommodement approuvé ne correspond pas aux attentes, il faut immédiatement faire le suivi auprès du personnel du CMFC afin de dissiper tout malentendu avant la date de l’examen.

Une copie de la confirmation d’accommodement doit être présentée à l’arrivée au centre d’examen. Si l’accommodement convenu n’est pas fourni, il faut en aviser le personnel du CMFC aussitôt que possible.

Les mesures d’accommodement spécial approuvées par le Collège ne sont pas transférables d’une séance d’examen à une autre. Une nouvelle demande doit être soumise à chaque demande d’inscription aux examens du CMFC, et celle-ci fera l’objet d’une évaluation distincte.

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.