Skip to Main Content

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is the fee for the 2022 Certification Examination in Family Medicine?

    In 2020 the CFPC Board approved the fees for the 2022 spring and fall exam to be $3,270. In recognition of the hardships imposed by COVID-19 on members, the Board of Directors decided to maintain fees at the same rates as 2020–2021. Note that the fee for a single component of the exam ($1,635) is half of the full fee.

    Fee Schedule for the Certification Examination in Family Medicine:
    Spring 2018 Fall 2018 Spring 2019 Fall 2019 Spring 2020 Fall 2020 Spring 2021 Fall 2021 Spring 2022 Fall 2022 Spring 2023 Fall 2023
    $2,960 $2,960 $3,110 $3,110 N/A $1,635 SAMP only $1,635 SAMP only $3,270 $3,270 $3,270 $3,335
    Proposed
    (+2%)
    $3,335
    Proposed
    (+2%)
    Single component
    $1,480 $1,480 $1,555 $1,555 N/A N/A N/A $1,635 $1,635 $1,635 $1,668 $1,668
  • What is the fee for the 2022 Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine?

    In 2020, the CFPC Board approved the fees for the 2022 spring and fall exam to be $3,270. In recognition of the hardships imposed by COVID-19 on members, the Board of Directors decided to maintain fees at the same rates as 2021.

    Fee Schedule for the Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine:
    2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
    $3,110 $3,270 $1,635
    (SAMP only)
    $3,270  $3,270 $3,597
    Proposed (+10%)
    Single component
    N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
  • How are the exam fees determined?

    The exams cost the CFPC more to run than what we receive in exam fees. The CFPC subsidizes the exams from member fees to cover direct and indirect expenses. As an example, in 2020–2021, when just the short-answer management problem (SAMP) component of the family medicine exam was delivered virtually, the exam fee per candidate was $1,635 and cost the CFPC $1,804 per candidate. Currently, the family medicine exam’s budgeted subsidy is approximately 28.5 per cent and the emergency medicine exam’s subsidy is approximately 57.3 per cent. We are a unique professional organization where members financially support the core credentialing of its new graduates to the profession. Our exam fees are also on par with, or lower than, other similar national testing organizations such as the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (Royal College).

  • How do the family medicine and emergency medicine exam fees compare to exam fees for other medical specialties?

    The Royal Colleges’ specialty exam fees for 2021 are $6,615 for resident candidates and $10,625 for practice eligible candidates, compared to the CFPC’s $3,270 for each of the family medicine and emergency medicine exams. The CFPC applies the same fee for residents and practice eligible candidates and does not have an added fee for candidates to qualify via the practice eligible route. The 2021 fee schedule comparison is as follows:

    CFPC family medicine exam fees:
    • Total fee for both exam components – $3,270
    • Single component fee for simulated office oral (SOO) – $1,635
    • Single component fee for short-answer management problem (SAMP) – $1,635
    CFPC emergency medicine exam fee:
    • Total fee for both exam components (structured orals and SAMP) – $3,270
    Royal College specialties exam fees:
    • Total fee for both exam components – $6,615
    • Single component fee for written exam – $2,200
    • Single component fee for comprehensive objective exam – $4,415
    • Practice eligible route for those who have worked in Canada for two years – additional $4,010
  • Why have family medicine exam fees increased while member fees have been unchanged since June 2017?

    In 2022 we are not increasing the exam fee. In 2023 it is proposed the fee should increase by the cost of inflation. Membership fees are set to cover core CFPC programs and services. You can learn more about what the member fee supports by reviewing our strategic plan and checking out our Annual Report.

  • Why is the CFPC subsidizing the family medicine exam but phasing out the subsidy for the emergency medicine exam?

    The emergency medicine exam subsidy is the greater of the two and the CFPC Board of Directors has decided to phase out this subsidy over the next five years, with any single year increase being capped at 10 per cent. Performance on the Certification Examination in Family Medicine influences licensure decisions of provincial and territorial colleges of physicians and surgeons. The Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine is an optional exam only needed by those members who have decided to work mainly in emergency medicine.

  • Will virtual simulated office orals (SOO) result in cost savings that will allow the exam fee to drop?

    Significant resources are currently being invested in designing, building, and delivering exams via modernized and virtual formats. The work and related expenses are not less, they are just different. By the end of 2022 we will have been through a full cycle delivering both the SAMP and SOO/oral components of the family medicine and emergency medicine exams in virtual formats and will be validating our costing structure. We need to be through our development phase to be able to do this. Currently, we do not expect a reduction in exam fees.

  • Why is Prometric still the SAMP delivery vendor for 2022? Will this be the same in 2023?

    The SAMP portion of the examination, in its current format, has specific platform requirements that few other vendors can support. We are learning and adjusting in this unprecedented environment. Prometric has been collaborative, responsive, and has taken responsibility for the delivery challenges that have occurred, where appropriate. We are working closely with them to debrief each exam delivery, identify all needed improvements, and monitor those changes to ensure they are made. There has been an overall improvement in examination delivery, with a reduction of critical incidents, yet we know that there is still work to do. Our current contract with Prometric for the SAMP delivery is until the end of 2023, and we are committed to reviewing this relationship going forward.


Updated: October 21, 2021

Find out everything you need to know about the family medicine and emergency medicine examinations, virtual and remote delivery, and news and updates. www.cfpc.ca/exams.

No results found.

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Foire aux questions

  • Quels sont les frais pour l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale de
    2022 ?

    En 2020, le Conseil d’administration du CMFC a approuvé des frais de l’examen du printemps et de l’automne 2022 de 3 270 $. En reconnaissance des épreuves subies par les membres pendant la COVID-19, le Conseil d’administration a décidé de maintenir les frais aux mêmes taux que ceux de 2020-2021. Veuillez noter que les frais pour un seul volet de l’examen sont de la moitié (1635 $) des frais pour la totalité de l’examen.

    Tableau des frais pour l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale :
    Printemps
    2018

     
    Automne
    2018

     
    Printemps
    2019

     
    Automne
    2019

     
    Printemps
    2020

     
    Automne
    2020

     
    Printemps
    2021

     
    Automne
    2021

     
    Printemps
    2022

     
    Automne
    2022

     
    Printemps
    2023

     
    Automne
    2023

     
    2 960 $ 2 960 $ 3 110 $ 3 110 $ S.O. 1 635 $ Volet
    SAMP seulement

     
    1 635 $ Volet
    SAMP seulement

     
    3 270 $ 3 270 $ 3 270 $ 3 335 $
    Proposé
    (+2 %)

     
    3 335 $
    Proposé
    (+2 %)

     
    Un seul volet
    1 480 $ 1 480 $ 1 555 $ 1 555 $ S.O. S.O. S.O. 1 635 $ 1 635 $ 1 635 $ 1 668 $ 1 668 $
  • Quels sont les frais pour l’Examen de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence pour 2022 ?

    En 2020, le Conseil d’administration du CMFC a approuvé des frais de l’examen du printemps et de l’automne 2022 de 3 270 $. En reconnaissance des épreuves subies par les membres pendant la COVID-19, le Conseil d’administration a décidé de maintenir les frais aux mêmes taux que ceux de 2021.

    Tableau des frais pour l’Examen de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence :
    2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
    3 110 $ 3 270 $ 1 635 $
    (Volet SAMP seulement)
     
    3 270 $ 3 270 $3 270 $ 3 597 $
    Proposé (+10 %)
     
    Un seul volet
    S.O. S.O. S.O.  S.O.  S.O. S.O.
  • Comment les frais sont-ils établis pour les examens ?

    Les examens coûtent plus cher au CMFC que ce que le Collège perçoit en frais payés. Le CMFC subventionne les examens à partir des droits d’adhésion afin de couvrir des dépenses directes et indirectes. Par exemple, en 2020–2021, lorsque seul le volet des simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP) a été administré pour l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale, les frais étaient de 1 635 $ par candidat alors que le coût du CMFC était de 1 804 $ par candidat. À l’heure actuelle, la subvention prévue au budget pour l’examen en médecine familiale est d’environ 28,5 pour cent et celle pour l’examen en médecine d’urgence est d’environ 57,3 pour cent. Le CMFC est une organisation professionnelle unique où les membres soutiennent financièrement la délivrance des titres de compétences de base pour les nouveaux médecins. Nos frais d’examen sont également équivalents, voire inférieurs, à ceux d’autres organisations nationales similaires telles que le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (Collège royal).

  • Comment les frais pour l’examen en médecine familiale et l’examen en médecine d’urgence se comparent-ils à ceux des autres spécialités médicales ?

    Les frais d’examen de spécialité du Collège royal pour 2021 sont de 6 615 $ pour les candidats résidents et de 10 625 $ pour les candidats admissibles par la voie de la pratique, comparativement aux frais de 3 270 $ du CMFC pour l’examen en médecine familiale ou l’examen en médecine d’urgence. Le CMFC applique les mêmes frais pour les résidents et pour les candidats admissibles par la voie de la pratique sans ajouter des frais supplémentaires pour ces derniers. La comparaison des frais de 2021 va comme suit :

    Frais de l’examen en médecine familiale du CMFC :
    • Total pour les deux volets de l’examen – 3 270 $
    • Frais pour le volet des Entrevues médicales simulées (EMS) – 1 635 $
    • Frais pour le volet des simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP) – 1 635 $
    Frais de l’examen en médecine d’urgence du CMFC :
    • Total pour les deux volets de l’examen (EMS et SAMP) – 3 270 $
    Frais des examens de spécialité du Collège royal :
    • Total pour les deux volets de l’examen – 6 615 $
    • Frais pour le volet écrit seulement – 2 200 $
    • Frais pour l’examen objectif intégré seulement – 4 415 $
    • Admissibilité par la voie de la pratique pour ceux qui ont travaillé au Canada pendant deux ans — frais additionnels de 4 010 $
  • Pourquoi les frais de l’examen ont-ils augmenté alors que les frais d’adhésion n’ont pas changé depuis 2017 ?

    En 2022, nous n’augmenterons pas les frais pour l’examen. En 2023, nous proposons une augmentation liée au coût de l’inflation. Les frais d’adhésion sont fixés pour couvrir les programmes et services de base du CMFC. Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur l’utilisation des frais d’adhésion en lisant notre Plan stratégique et en jetant un coup d’œil à notre Rapport annuel.
     
  • Pourquoi le CMFC subventionne-t-il l’examen en médecine familiale, mais va cesser progressivement sa subvention de l’examen en MU ?

    La subvention de l’Examen en médecine d’urgence est la plus grande des deux et le Conseil d’administration du CMFC a décidé d’éliminer progressivement cette subvention au cours des cinq prochaines années, en tenant compte d’une augmentation annuelle maximale de 10 %. Les résultats à l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale ont une influence sur les décisions liées à l’attribution des permis d’exercice par les ordres de médecins provinciaux et territoriaux. L’examen en médecine d’urgence est un examen facultatif qui est nécessaire uniquement pour ceux qui souhaitent travailler principalement en médecine d’urgence.
     
  • Est-ce que le passage aux entrevues médicales simulées (EMS) virtuelles entraînera des économies de coûts qui permettront de faire baisser les frais d’examen ?

    D’importantes ressources sont actuellement investies dans la conception, l’élaboration et l’administration des examens dans des formats modernisés et virtuels. Le travail et les dépenses connexes ne sont pas moindres, ils sont simplement différents. D’ici la fin de l’année 2022, nous aurons effectué un cycle complet des volets SAMP et EMS dans des formats virtuels pour les examens en médecine familiale et en médecine d’urgence et nous validerons ensuite notre structure de coûts. Nous devons avoir franchi notre phase de développement pour être en mesure de le faire. Actuellement, nous ne prévoyons pas de réduction des frais d’examen.
     
  • Pourquoi Prometric est-il toujours le fournisseur du volet SAMP en 2022 ? Est-ce que ce sera également le cas en 2023 ?

    Le volet des SAMP de l’examen, dans son format actuel, a des exigences spécifiques en matière de plateforme que très peu de fournisseurs peuvent accommoder. Nous apprenons et essayons de nous adapter dans cet environnement jamais vu. Prometric a fait preuve de collaboration, a été proactive et a assumé la responsabilité des problèmes qui se sont produits, le cas échéant. Nous travaillons étroitement avec eux pour faire un retour sur chaque prestation d’examen, identifier les points à améliorer, et ensuite faire le suivi pour nous assurer que ces changements ont été appliqués. Il y a eu une amélioration générale dans la prestation des examens, avec une réduction des incidents majeurs, mais nous savons qu’il y a encore du travail à faire. Notre contrat actuel avec Prometric pour la prestation du volet des SAMP se termine à la fin de 2023, et nous nous engageons à revoir cette relation à l’avenir.
     


Mise à jour : 21 octobre 2021

Pour tout savoir sur les examens en médecine familiale et en médecine d'urgence, la prestation virtuelle et à distance de l’examen, ainsi que les nouvelles et les mises à jour. www.cfpc.ca/examens.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.