Skip to Main Content
Certification exams are coming soon—make an impact and become a CFPC examiner today!
CFPC Annual Report June 1, 2022–February 28, 2023

Dear members,

Times are difficult right now, and we want you to know that the CFPC is here for you.

Data and evidence are clear: a strong, supported primary care system, with family doctors as the foundation, is critical and cost effective to advancing the health of patients and communities.

Yet for so long and even after the stress of a pandemic, investments have been few and far between.

The CFPC has been working non-stop with partners across the country to call attention to the crisis in family medicine. We need governments to take bold action to make up for historic shortfalls and to invest in family medicine and primary care now and more sustainably in the future.

We know that family medicine is worth it—but action is needed today.

A 2022 Commonwealth Fund survey found that 50 per cent of family physicians report being burnt out. Three out of four family doctors have reported taking on more work to support their patients, even as four out of five say that their compensation has stagnated or decreased. These distressing figures outline the crisis that faces members, who provide 70 per cent of medical services in this country on only eight per cent of the overall investment.

It’s clear that the primary care system is broken—and is being propped up by the integrity and sacrifice of family physicians and many other valued primary care provider partners.

Enough is enough.

This annual report highlights how the CFPC has been working for you over the past year. We’ve relentlessly met with decision makers and have amplified the stories and sacrifices of family physicians through numerous position statements and open letters. Our Prescription for Primary Care highlights concrete measures to support and transform the practice environment for current and future family physicians and to ensure continued access for patients to quality care without diminishing standards of practice.

We are seeing progress: the federal government announced $196 billion in health care funding with enhancing availability of family health services listed as one of the priority areas. But this support must go to where it is most needed—shoring up primary care and family medicine.

The College also continues to do its part in strengthening residency training and optimizing operations to better serve members. But the urgent crisis of this moment demands bold action and investment to transform primary care, support family doctors, and help patients get the care they need.

To that end, we will continue to bring our collective voices to bear in advocating for you because what all of you do every day is worth it, and nothing short of inspiring.

We’re moving from listening and learning to action. And we thank you for being a member of the CFPC because we are truly stronger together.


 

Dr. Christie Newton
Christie Newton, MD, CCFP, FCFP
President

Dr. Lawrence Loh
Lawrence C. Loh, MD, MPH, CCFP, FCFP, FRCPC, FACPM
Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer

 

Read our acknowledgement of chairs who recently completed their terms.
 
 
 












 



     
    Other
  • Academic Family Medicine

    • The CFPC launched an online space for Canada’s family medicine/primary care researchers, Research Connect. The new forum is delivered through the TimedRight platform and is aligned with objectives of the Section of Researcher’s Blueprint 2.
  • The Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine

    • Thanks to Scotiabank and MD Financial Management Inc., the FAFM launched the Family Physician of the Year award recognizing an outstanding CFPC member from Yukon, Nunavut, or the Northwest Territories who exemplifies excellence in the practice of family medicine
    • Team Primary Care - Training for Transformation (TPC) launched in February 2023. The Foundation runs the initiative, which is co-led by the CFPC and the Canadian Health Workforce Network in partnership with more than 65 health professional and educational organizations across Canada. TPC is funded by the Government of Canada’s Employment and Social Development Canada department
    • OTP is currently in Phase 2: Execution, Develop and Deliver- This phase is about planning for implementation of the recommended changes found in the Family Medicine Professional Profile (ie: focused on curriculum renewal and change stewardship.)
Provincial Chapters

Financial summary*


Revenues pie graph

Revenues
$33,339,004


blue dot 62.80%

Member Core and Enhanced Programs

 

light blue dot graphic20.58%

Programs not supported by Member fees (Self Learning Program, Family Medicine Forum, Non-Member Mainpro+ Participants)

 

light blue dot graphic8.64%

Team Primary Care (TPC) Project

 

grey dot graphic7.98%

Certification and Assessment

CFPC expenses pie graph

Expenses
$38,915,119


blue dot 57.69%

Member Core and Enhanced Programs

 

light blue dot graphic18.39%

Programs not supported by Member fees (Self Learning Program, Family Medicine Forum, Non-Member Mainpro+ Participants)

 

light blue dot graphic17.47%

Certification and Assessment

 

grey dot graphic6.45%

Team Primary Care (TPC) Project
The total deficit for the year 2022–2023 is ($5,576,115) representing 14.33% of total expenses.
This has been funded out of surplus of fiscal year 2020–2021 and a portion of the COVID-19 contingency reserve.

*2022–2023 fiscal year represents a nine-month period as the CFPC changed its fiscal year
to end on the last day of February (previously last day of May).

No results found.

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal
Examens de certification bientôt offerts. Contribuez en devenant examinateur ou examinatrice du CMFC aujourd’hui!
Rapport annuel du CMFC, 1er juin 2021 au 28 février 2023

À tous nos membres,

En ces temps difficiles, nous tenons à ce que vous sachiez que le CMFC est là pour vous.

Les informations et les données probantes sont claires : un système de soins primaires robuste et soutenu, dont les médecins de famille constituent le socle, est rentable et crucial pour promouvoir la santé de la population et des communautés.

Pourtant, pendant très longtemps et même après le stress de la pandémie, les investissements ont été rares.

Le CMFC travaille sans relâche avec ses partenaires d’un bout à l’autre du pays pour porter la crise que traversent les médecins de famille à l’attention de tous. Les gouvernements doivent prendre des mesures audacieuses pour combler les lacunes historiques et investir dans la médecine de famille et les soins primaires dès maintenant, et de façon plus durable à l’avenir.

Nous savons que la médecine de famille en vaut la peine, mais des mesures doivent être prises dès aujourd’hui.

Une enquête du Fonds du Commonwealth menée en 2022 a révélé que 50 pour cent des médecins de famille se disent épuisés. Trois médecins de famille sur quatre ont déclaré travailler plus pour soutenir leurs patients, alors même que quatre médecins sur cinq disent que leur rémunération a stagné ou diminué. Ces chiffres alarmants révèlent la crise à laquelle sont confrontés nos membres, qui fournissent 70 pour cent des services médicaux au pays sur seulement huit pour cent de l’investissement global.

Il est évident que le système de soins primaires est défaillant — il tient grâce à l’intégrité et au sacrifice des médecins de famille et de nombreux autres fournisseurs de soins primaires partenaires.

La situation a assez duré.

Ce rapport annuel met en évidence ce que le CMFC a fait pour vous au cours de la dernière année. Nous n’avons cessé de rencontrer des décideurs et nous avons réitéré les histoires et les sacrifices des médecins de famille par l’intermédiaire de nombreux énoncés de position et lettres ouvertes. Notre Ordonnance pour les soins primaires propose des mesures concrètes pour soutenir et transformer le milieu de pratique des médecins de famille actuels et futurs et garantir aux patients un accès continu à des soins de qualité, sans faire de compromis sur les normes de pratique.

Des progrès ont été faits : le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé un financement des soins de santé d’un montant de 196 milliards de dollars et l’amélioration de la disponibilité des services de santé en médecine de famille fait partie des domaines prioritaires. Cependant, ces soutiens doivent répondre aux besoins les plus pressants : renforcer les soins primaires et la médecine de famille.

Le Collège continue également à faire sa part en renforçant la formation pour la résidence et en optimisant les opérations pour mieux répondre aux besoins de ses membres. Cependant, la crise urgente que nous traversons actuellement nécessite des mesures audacieuses et un investissement pour transformer les soins primaires, soutenir les médecins de famille et aider la population canadienne à recevoir les soins dont elle a besoin.

Nous continuerons donc à nous faire votre porte-parole et à défendre vos intérêts, car vos efforts quotidiens en valent la peine et sont véritablement inspirants.

Après l’initiative Écouter + Apprendre, le temps est venu d’agir. Nous vous remercions d’être membre du CMFC, car nous sommes véritablement plus fort ensemble.

 

Dr. Christie Newton
Christie Newton, MD, CCMF, FCMF
Présidente

Dr. Lawrence Loh
Lawrence C. Loh, MD, MPH, CCMF, FCMF, FRCPC, FACPM
Directeur général et chef de la direction

 

Lire nos remerciements aux présidents et aux présidentes qui ont récemment terminé leur mandat.
 
 
 












 



     
    Autre
  • MFU

    • Le CMFC a lancé un espace en ligne pour les chercheurs en médecine de famille et en soins primaires au Canada : Branchés sur la recherche. Ce nouveau forum est hébergé sur la plateforme TimedRight et répond aux objectifs du Plan directeur 2 de la Section des chercheurs.
  • FAMF

    • Grâce à la Banque Scotia et Gestion financière MD Inc., la FAMF a introduit un Prix du Médecin de famille de l’année décerné à un membre du CMFC exceptionnel du Yukon, du Nunavut ou des Territoires du Nord-Ouest qui incarne l’excellence dans l’exercice de la médecine de famille.
    • Équipe de soins primaires : Former pour transformer (ÉSP) a été lancée en février 2023. Administrée par la Fondation, cette initiative est codirigée par le CMFC et le Réseau canadien pour la main-d’œuvre en santé, en partenariat avec plus de 65 organisations professionnelles et éducatives de la santé d’un bout à l’autre du pays. ÉSP est financée par le ministère Emploi et Développement social Canada du gouvernement canadien.
    • Le Projet sur les finalités d’apprentissage en est actuellement à sa Phase 2 : exécution – plan de mise en œuvre et application —, qui consiste à planifier la mise en œuvre des changements recommandés dans le Profil professionnel en médecine de famille (axés, par exemple, sur la réforme du programme d’études et la gestion des changements connexes).
Faits saillants des sections provinciales

Résumé de l'information financière*


Revenues pie graph

Revenus
33 339 004 $


blue dot 62,80 %

Programmes de base et améliorés à l’intention des membres

 

light blue dot graphic20,58 %

Programmes qui ne sont pas financés par les droits d’adhésion des membres (Autoapprentissage, Forum en médecine familiale, Participants Mainpro+ non membres)

 

light blue dot graphic8,64 %

Initiative Équipe de soins primaires (ESP)

 

grey dot graphic7,98 %

Certification et évaluation

CFPC expenses pie graph

Charges
38 915 119 $


blue dot 57,69 %

Programmes de base et améliorés à l’intention des membres

 

light blue dot graphic18,39 %

Programmes qui ne sont pas financés par les droits d’adhésion des membres (Autoapprentissage, Forum en médecine familiale, Participants Mainpro+ non membres)

 

light blue dot graphic17,47 %

Certification et évaluation

 

grey dot graphic6,45 %

Initiative Équipe de soins primaires (ESP)
Le déficit total pour l’exercice 2022-2023 est de (5 576 115 $), soit 14,33 % des charges totales. Il a été financé par
l’excédent de l’exercice 2020-2021 et par une portion des fonds de la réserve pour éventualités liées à la COVID-19.

* L’exercice financier 2022-2023 correspond à une période de 9 mois, car le Collège a modifié ses
exercices financiers pour qu’ils prennent fin le dernier jour de février (antérieurement le dernier jour de mai).

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.