Skip to Main Content
Family Medicine Examination Update: 2021 SAMP exam (September 29, 2021)

October 2020

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) acknowledges the tragic death of Joyce Echaquan, an Atikamekw woman, and the racism she experienced in her final hours as deplorable and unacceptable. We send our sincerest condolences to her family, community, and nation. We also recognize the immense bravery of both Joyce Echaquan and her family for coming forward to share this painful story.

The CFPC recognizes the pervasive nature of systemic racism within Canada’s institutions and is deeply concerned about its effects on delivery of services to underserved populations.

Systemic racism has no place in Canada’s health care nor in our diverse societal contexts. Unfortunately, many members of racialized communities have been victims of assumptions, prejudices, and racism and have been racialized in clinics, hospitals, and even health professionals’ education and training programs.

Recognizing this, the CFPC is actively working with physician leaders who identify themselves as members of racialized communities to address the adverse effects of systemic racism in the training and practice of family physicians. We recognize that such introspection involves discomfort and critical reflection, but it is a necessity to achieve authentic and meaningful change.

Since 2012 the CFPC Indigenous Health Committee (IHC) has been actively exploring ways to address inequities in Indigenous health and social issues, including racism, to educate family physicians and trainees across Canada through a lens of cultural humility and cultural safety. In support of anti-racism and culturally-safe care of Indigenous peoples, the IHC authored a report in 2016 titled Health and Health Care Implications of Systemic Racism on Indigenous Peoples in Canada*. This document offered clear support for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action and intended to familiarize CFPC members, educators, and trainees with ways to recognize, challenge, and dismantle systemic racism.

Multiple, complementary strategies are needed to address a problem as complex and entrenched as systemic racism:
  • Acknowledging that systemic racism exists and has tangible adverse effects on health of populations subjected to discrimination
  • Guiding practicing physicians, medical learners and the institutions that support their learning across the continuum of medical education
  • Adjusting program accreditation standards, including curriculum and evaluation
  • Supporting Indigenous medical learners, educators, and physicians
  • Advocating for health policy changes to deter systemic racism and encourage inclusivity and representation
Seeing the need for specific Indigenous considerations inherent in all competencies of CanMEDS–Family Medicine (CanMEDS-FM) 2017, the IHC developed a companion document for the framework that highlights unique requirements and opportunities for Indigenous patients’ health care. This educational tool can serve as the foundation to increase knowledge of Indigenous peoples, their lived experiences, communities, and cultures, to learn and achieve culturally safe care. It will be available in November 2020 on the CanMEDS-FM section of the CFPC website.

The Indigenous CanMEDS-FM document will contribute to positive changes in health care by guiding medical trainees and practising physicians to avoid harmful assumptions, stereotypes, and systemic racism often felt by Indigenous peoples. This document will be used to assist family medicine residency programs across Canada to better prepare their trainees to meet the needs of Indigenous patients.

While the Indigenous CanMEDS-FM document and the Systemic Racism fact sheet were created chiefly for family physicians, these can also be used by other health professionals as a learning resource.

Family physicians are often the patients’ first contact with the health care system. They coordinate the care of Indigenous patients in and beyond their local context. It is particularly important for the physicians to practise with a cultural safety and an anti-racism approach. Family physicians can advocate for Indigenous patients and families, but also familiarize themselves with resources that support patients (e.g., actions to address concerns about care or discrimination). By listening and being open-minded, we can foster safe, trusting, and respectful therapeutic interactions in community clinics or emergency departments.

The CFPC encourages practising family physicians, medical students, and residents to not only learn more about Indigenous health and anti-racism, but also discuss the importance of cultural safety with colleagues. Leveraging knowledge of experts with experience in working with Indigenous populations will be helpful in improving family practice teams’ abilities to provide culturally safe and effective care to Indigenous patients.

It is crucial that the actions to address systemic racism are led and informed by authentic Indigenous voices. Many passionate Indigenous advocates dedicate their energy to this work in addition to their roles as clinicians, educators, and researchers. To allow these efforts to effectively thrive, the CFPC maintains strong support of the proposed National Consortium for Indigenous Medical Education. Having a centralized structure that is resourced and equipped to provide the necessary expertise for this important work will greatly expedite progress in improving Indigenous health across Canada.

The CFPC remains committed to doing its part in addressing the inequities and systemic racism experienced by Indigenous people in Canada. We intend to continue our own work and collaborate with others to jointly resolve this urgent social and cultural crisis, and ensure that racist incidents like that which Joyce Echaquan and others have faced will not be repeated.

For any inquiries regarding the CFPC work in this regard please contact Artem Safarov, Director of Health Policy and Government Relations, via [email protected].

Sarah Funnell, MD, CCFP
Co-Chair, Indigenous Health Committee
Darlene Kitty, MD, CCFP
Co-Chair, Indigenous Health Committee
Francine Lemire, MD CM, CCFP, FCFP, CAE, ICD.D
Executive Director and CEO, CFPC
Shirley Schipper, MD, CCFP, FCFP
President, CFPC
  PDF
* College of Family Physicians of Canada. Health and Health Care Implications of Systemic Racism on Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Mississauga, ON: College of Family Physicians of Canada; 2016. Available from: https://www.cfpc.ca/CFPC/media/Resources/Rural-Practice/SystemicRacism_ENG.pdf
Shaw E, Oandasan I, Fowler N, eds. CanMEDS-FM 2017: A competency framework for family physicians across the continuum. Mississauga, ON: The College of Family Physicians of Canada; 2017. https://www.cfpc.ca/CFPC/media/Resources/Medical-Education/CanMEDS-Family-Medicine-2017-ENG.pdf
College of Family Physicians of Canada. CanMEDS–Family Medicine website. 2020. https://www.cfpc.ca/en/education-professional-development/educational-frameworks-and-reference-guides/canmeds-family-medicine

No results found.

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Octobre 2020

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) reconnaît que la mort tragique de Joyce Echaquan, une femme atikamekw, et le racisme qu’elle a subi dans ses dernières heures sont déplorables et inacceptables. Nous offrons nos plus sincères condoléances à sa famille, à sa communauté et à sa nation. Nous reconnaissons également l’immense courage de Joyce Echaquan et de sa famille, qui ont choisi de partager cette expérience douloureuse.

Le CMFC reconnaît l’omniprésence du racisme systémique au sein des institutions canadiennes et est profondément préoccupé par ses effets sur la prestation de services aux populations mal desservies.

Le racisme systémique n’a pas sa place dans les soins de santé au Canada ni dans nos divers contextes sociétaux. Malheureusement, de nombreux membres des communautés racialisées ont été victimes de préconceptions, de préjugés et de racisme et ont été racialisés dans les cliniques, les hôpitaux et même dans les programmes d’éducation et de formation des professionnels de la santé.

Le CMFC est conscient de ce fait et travaille activement avec des leaders du milieu médical qui s’identifient comme membres de communautés racialisées afin de contrer les effets néfastes du racisme systémique dans la formation et la pratique des médecins de famille. Nous savons qu’une telle introspection suscite un malaise et une réflexion critique, mais elle est nécessaire pour parvenir à un changement authentique et significatif.

Depuis 2012, le Comité sur la santé autochtone (CSA) du CMFC examine activement les moyens de remédier aux inégalités en matière de santé et aux problèmes sociaux auxquels sont confrontés les Autochtones, y compris le racisme, et de sensibiliser les médecins de famille et les apprenants partout au Canada dans un esprit d’humilité culturelle et de sécurité culturelle. Pour soutenir la lutte contre le racisme et la prestation de soins culturellement sécuritaires aux peuples autochtones, le CSA a rédigé en 2016 un rapport intitulé Conséquences du racisme systémique sur la santé des populations autochtones du Canada et les soins de santé qui leur sont offerts*. Ce document offre un appui clair aux appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation et vise à initier les membres du CMFC, les enseignants et les apprenants aux moyens de reconnaître, de combattre et de démanteler le racisme systémique.

De nombreuses stratégies complémentaires sont nécessaires pour s’attaquer à un problème aussi complexe et ancré que le racisme systémique :
  • Reconnaître l’existence du racisme systémique et ses effets négatifs tangibles sur la santé des populations victimes de discrimination
  • Guider les médecins en pratique, les apprenants en médecine et les institutions qui dispensent l’enseignement dans tout le continuum de la formation médicale
  • Ajuster les normes d’agrément des programmes, y compris le cursus et l’évaluation
  • Soutenir les apprenants en médecine, les enseignants et les médecins autochtones
  • Plaider en faveur de changements dans les politiques de santé afin de prévenir le racisme systémique et d’encourager l’inclusivité et la représentation
Le CSA considère qu’il est nécessaire de tenir compte des particularités autochtones comme étant inhérentes à toutes les compétences CanMEDS–Médecine familiale (CanMEDS–MF) 2017. Ainsi, il a élaboré un document d’accompagnement pour le référentiel qui souligne les exigences propres aux soins des patients autochtones et les possibilités en la matière. Cet outil pédagogique peut servir de base pour mieux faire connaître les peuples autochtones, leur vécu, leurs communautés et leurs cultures, afin d’apprendre et de mettre en place des soins culturellement sécuritaires. Il sera disponible en novembre 2020 dans la section CanMEDS–MF du site Web du CMFC.

CanMEDS–MF : document d’accompagnement sur la santé autochtone contribuera à des changements positifs dans le domaine de la santé en guidant les apprenants en médecine et les médecins en pratique pour éviter les préjugés nuisibles, les stéréotypes et le racisme systémique souvent ressentis par les peuples autochtones. Ce document sera utilisé pour aider les programmes de résidence en médecine de famille au Canada à mieux préparer leurs résidents à répondre aux besoins des patients autochtones.

Bien que le document CanMEDS–MF sur la santé autochtone et le document d’information sur le racisme systémique aient été créés principalement pour les médecins de famille, ils peuvent également servir de ressources d’apprentissage à d’autres professionnels de la santé.
Les médecins de famille sont souvent le premier point de contact des patients avec le système de santé. Ils coordonnent les soins des patients autochtones dans leur milieu local et à l’extérieur de celui-ci. Il est particulièrement important pour les médecins de pratiquer selon une approche culturellement sécuritaire et antiraciste. Les médecins de famille peuvent défendre les intérêts des patients et des familles autochtones, mais aussi se familiariser avec les ressources qui sont là pour leur venir en aide (par exemple, les mesures à prendre en cas de préoccupations concernant les soins ou la discrimination). En étant à l’écoute et en faisant preuve d’ouverture d’esprit, nous pouvons favoriser des interactions thérapeutiques sécuritaires, basées sur la confiance et le respect dans les cliniques communautaires et les services d’urgence.

Le CMFC encourage les médecins de famille en pratique, les étudiants en médecine et les résidents non seulement à en apprendre davantage sur la santé autochtone et la lutte contre le racisme, mais aussi à discuter de l’importance de la sécurité culturelle avec leurs collègues. En tirant parti des connaissances d’experts ayant déjà travaillé avec des populations autochtones, les équipes de médecine de famille seront mieux outillées pour fournir des soins efficaces et culturellement sécuritaires aux patients autochtones.

Il est essentiel que les mesures visant à lutter contre le racisme systémique soient authentiquement guidées et éclairées par des voix autochtones. De nombreux militants autochtones consacrent ardemment leur énergie à ce travail, en plus de leur rôle de cliniciens, d’enseignants et de chercheurs. Pour permettre à ces efforts de se concrétiser, le CMFC continue d’appuyer énergiquement le projet proposé pour établir un Consortium national sur l’éducation médicale autochtone. Une structure centralisée dotée des ressources et de l’équipement nécessaires afin de fournir l’expertise requise pour ce travail important permettra d’accélérer grandement les progrès dans l’amélioration de la santé des Autochtones au Canada.

Le CMFC reste déterminé à travailler pour remédier aux inégalités et au racisme systémique dont sont victimes les peuples autochtones au Canada. Nous avons l’intention de poursuivre notre propre travail et de collaborer avec d’autres intervenants pour résoudre conjointement cette crise sociale et culturelle urgente, et pour garantir que des incidents racistes comme celui auquel Joyce Echaquan et d’autres personnes ont subi ne se reproduiront pas.

Pour toute question concernant les travaux du CMFC à cet égard, veuillez communiquer avec M. Artem Safarov, directeur, Politiques en matière de santé et relations gouvernementales, à [email protected].

Sarah Funnell, MD, CCMF
Coprésidente, Comité sur la santé autochtone
Darlene Kitty, MD, CCMF
Coprésidente, Comité sur la santé autochtone
Francine Lemire, MD CM, CCMF, FCMF, CAÉ, IAS. A
Directrice générale et chef de la direction, CMFC
Shirley Schipper, MD, CCMF, FCMF
Présidente, CMFC
  PDF
* Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada. Conséquences du racisme systémique sur la santé des populations autochtones du Canada et les soins de santé qui leur sont offerts. Mississauga, ON : Collège des médecins de famille du Canada ; 2016. Dans :  https://portal.cfpc.ca/ResourcesDocs/uploadedFiles/Resources/_PDFs/Communique_SystemicRacism_FRE.pdf.
Shaw E, Oandasan I, Fowler N, éds. CanMEDS–MF 2017 : Un Référentiel de compétences pour les médecins de famille dans tout le continuum de formation. Mississauga, ON : Collège des médecins de famille du Canada ; 2017. Dans : https://portal.cfpc.ca/resourcesdocs/uploadedFiles/Resources/Resource_Items/Health_Professionals/CanMEDS-Medecine-familiale-2017-FR.pdf.
Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada. CanMEDS–Médecine familiale [site Web]. 2020. https://www.cfpc.ca/fr/education-professional-development/educational-frameworks-and-reference-guides/canmeds-family-medicine.
 

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.