Skip to Main Content

Section of Researchers

Who we are

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) Section of Researchers (SOR) addresses research at the CFPC. Members include family physician and associate members of the CFPC.

We are clinicians and researchers who support each other and share our experiences at the CFPC’s Family Medicine Forum, at other conferences, and through publications. We learn from each other and aspire to improve the health of our patients through research and innovation in family medicine and quality improvement (QI). We are passionate about our work.

The SOR is governed by the SOR Council, which includes representatives from diverse groups associated with family medicine research. They are respected leaders in their fields and committed to the continuous improvement of family medicine.

We are passionate about our research. We are clinicians and researchers who support each other and share our experiences at the CFPC’s Family Medicine Forum, other conferences, and through various publications. We learn from each other and from experts, and we aspire to improve the health of our patients through research and innovation in family medicine.

Vision

Leading family medicine, improving lives.

The SOR embraces the College vision and mission. The SOR contributes to the mission and vision by building the research capacity and capability of family medicine and primary health care through leadership, education, and advocacy.

Join Us!

The SOR welcomes new members! Whether you’re in your early career or a seasoned physician, the SOR has something for everyone. CFPC Members and Associate Members are welcome to join the SOR at no additional cost. Contact us at [email protected].

Associate membership is available to other health professionals or others who work in collaboration with family physicians or academic departments of family medicine. Please visit the membership section of the CFPC website to learn more about becoming a member.

Chair

Dr. Marshall Godwin

Past Chair

Dr. Martin Fortin
 

Members

Dr. Doug Archibald, Family Medicine Forum Research Committee Chair/Education researcher, Ontario

Dr. Kris Aubrey-Bassler, Research Director Chair, Newfoundland

Dr. Lynn Farrales, Family Physician PhD representative, British Columbia

Dr. Michael Green, ACCFM Representative, Alberta

Dr. Michelle Greiver, Practice Based Research Networks (PBRN) Action Group Chair, Ontario

Dr. Brian Hutchison, Action Group for Advocacy in Research (AGAR) Chair, Ontario

Dr. Meaghan Labine, Section of Residents Representative, Manitoba

Dr. Dee Mangin, Academic Family Physician, Ontario 

Dr. Matthew Menear, Research Community of Practice (RCOP) Chair, Quebec

Dr. Kerry Reed, Community Physician Representative, Ontario

Dr. Judy Belle Brown, NAPCRG Representative

Ms. Reem El Sherif, Graduate Student Representative

Section of Researchers (SOR) action groups

To accomplish tasks and activities outlined in the blueprint, the SOR Council created these action groups:
  • Research Community of Practice (RCOP)

    The RCOP was established to support capacity building in research and a pan-Canadian community of practice. A community of practice connects members with an interest in research, facilitates mentor relationships, and increases research career support and opportunities.

  • Action Group for Advocacy in Research (AGAR)

    The objectives of AGAR are to establish the Section of Researchers as a leader in the collective voice of primary health care research groups, to support family medicine and primary health care research funding, thereby increasing the public awareness of the importance of family medicine research. Moreover, AGAR advocates for increased funding of family medicine and primary health care research.

  • Family Medicine Forum Research Committee (FMF-RC)

    The FMF-RC is responsible for coordinating all the associated research events at the annual Family Medicine Forum, such as planning the schedule, reviewing and accepting the abstracts, evaluating the events, and publishing the proceedings.

  • Practice Based Research Networks (PBRN)

    PBRNs are groups of primary care clinicians and practices working together to answer community-based health care questions and translate research findings into practice. PBRNs engage clinicians in quality improvement activities and an evidence-based culture in primary care practice to improve the health of all.

What's new

Creating a Stronger Base for Health Care Innovation

The College of Family Physicians of Canada continues to promote the critical importance of research in primary care. Read about our current advocacy efforts related to Canadian Institutes of Health Research funding and the need to enhance support for primary, home, and community health care research to improve the health of everyone in Canada.

Proposal for a CIHR institute of integrated primary, home, and community health care
Despite the critical importance of primary, home, and community care to the health of everyone in Canada, less than 3 per cent of Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) funding goes to primary care. In addition, most of this is time-limited strategic funding that will end soon.

The creation of an integrated primary, home, and community health care institute as part of the CIHR would position Canada as a leader in these research areas. It would also strengthen the capacity of these sectors to respond to future and emerging health care needs and challenges.

Please read and share the proposal provided here.

The CFPC's Position Statement: Supporting access to data in electronic medical records for quality improvement and research

The Section of Researchers’ (SOR’s) Blueprint for Family Medicine Research Success 2.0 (2018-2023)


Section of Researchers

The Section of Researchers (SOR) is the section of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) that represents members who have an interest in primary care research in Canada. Members include family physicians, residents, medical students, and researchers from different professions and background, includes early-, mid-, and senior-career researchers.

Resources

Section of Researchers Blueprint 2 (2018-2023)

The Section of Researchers’ Blueprint 2 (2018–2023) builds on the successes of the first Blueprint (2012–2017), and it encompasses the following four strategic priority areas to guide the SOR’s strategic direction:
 

Cog with the word Membership in it

Membership
Growing the membership base and increasing awareness of primary care research and the SOR among family physicians, residents, and primary care colleagues remain strategic priorities. This priority area focusses on increasing the added value of membership in the SOR.

Cog with the word Capacity Building in it

Capacity Building
This priority area encourages engagement in research activities earlier in members’ careers, promotes research and the use of data for research and quality improvement (QI) at a practice level, and advances large data research.

Cog with the word Advocacy in it

Advocacy
The focus of this priority area is to strengthen advocacy for increased funding and infrastructure for family medicine research and QI. The SOR will also continue earlier work conducted for ensuring access to EMR data to support QI and research at the practice level.

Cog with the word Partnership in it

Partnerships
Primary care research is a collaborative effort. This priority area focusses on strengthening existing partnerships and establishing new links, which support many of the other Blueprint objectives.

Blueprint 2 provides a useful, membership-driven strategic plan for the SOR. Implementing the objectives promotes research and QI, and nutures a culture of curiosity.

The Section of Researchers’ Blueprint 2 (2018–2023)

Blueprint for Family Medicine Research Success 2012–2017

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

À propos du conseil

La Section des chercheurs (SOR) a été fondée en 1995 et compte depuis environ 2 000 membres, à différentes étapes de leur carrière de chercheur. La section aspire à continuer d'améliorer la santé des Canadiens grâce à la recherche et à l'amélioration de la qualité.

La Section des chercheurs (SdC) est responsable de la recherche au Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CFMC). Elle regroupe dans ses rangs des médecins de famille et des membres associés du CMFC.

Nous sommes des cliniciens et des chercheurs qui s’entraident et partagent leurs expériences au Forum en médecine familiale du CMFC et à d’autres congrès, et par l’entremise de publications. Nous apprenons les uns des autres ainsi que de nos experts et nous souhaitons améliorer la santé de nos patients grâce à la recherche, à l’innovation en médecine de famille et à l’amélioration continue de la qualité (ACQ). Notre travail est notre passion.

Parmi les membres du Conseil de la SdC figurent des représentants de divers groupes associés à la recherche en médecine de famille. Il s’agit de leaders respectés dans leur domaine, déterminés à faire progresser la médecine de famille de façon continue.

Vision

Leaders en médecine familiale. Pour la santé et une vie meilleure.

La SdC souscrit pleinement à la vision et à la mission du Collège. À cet égard, elle contribue en renforçant les capacités et possibilités de recherche en médecine de famille et soins de santé primaires par le leadership, l’éducation et le plaidoyer.

Joignez nos rangs !

La SdC est ravie d’accueillir de nouveaux membres ! Tous — tant les médecins en début de carrière que les plus chevronnés — peuvent y trouver une place. Pour les membres du CMFC et les membres associés, il n’y a aucuns frais d’adhésion. Écrivez-nous à [email protected].

Les professionnels de la santé ou autres personnes qui travaillent en collaboration avec des médecins de famille ou des départements universitaires de médecine de famille peuvent adhérer au Collège à titre de membre associé. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’adhésion au CMFC, visitez la section à ce sujet sur le site Web.


Président

Dr Marshall Godwin

Président sortant

Dr Martin Fortin

Membres

Dr Doug Archibald, Rep. chercheurs en éducation, Ontario

Dr Kris Aubrey-Bassler, directeur d’unité de recherche, Terre-Neuve

Dre Lynn Farrales, représentante des doctorants en médecine familiale, Colombie-Britannique

Dr Michael Green, représentant de l’Association des directeurs de médecine de famille du Canada (ADMFC), Alberta

Dre Michelle Greiver, présidente du Groupe d’action des Réseaux de recherche basée sur la pratique (RRBP), Ontario

Dr Brian Hutchison, président du Groupe d’action pour la promotion de la recherche (AGAR), Ontario

Dre Meaghan Labine, représentante de la Section des résidents, Manitoba

Dre Dee Mangin, médecine de famille universitaire, Ontario 

Dr Matthew Menear, président de la Communauté de pratique en recherche, Québec

Dre Kerry Reed, représentante des médecins communautaires, Ontario

Dre Judy Belle Brown, ancien président, NAPCRG

Dre Gayle Halas, Président CRFMF

Mme Reem El Sherif, Représentante des étudiants diplômés
 

Groupes d’action de la Section des chercheurs (SdC)

Afin d’accomplir les tâches et les activités du Plan directeur, le Conseil de la SdC a formé les groupes d’action suivants :
  • Communauté de pratique en recherche

    Ce groupe a été créé afin de développer la capacité en recherche ainsi qu’une nouvelle communauté de pratique pancanadienne. Celle-ci permet aux membres de nouer des liens avec d’autres chercheurs aux intérêts communs, de favoriser les relations de mentorat et d’augmenter les perspectives de carrières et le soutien professionnel en recherche.

  • Groupe d’action pour la promotion de la recherche (AGAR)

    Les objectifs d’AGAR sont de positionner la Section des chercheurs en tant que chef de file des groupes de recherche sur les soins primaires, afin de soutenir le financement de la recherche en médecine familiale et en soins primaires. Il vise ainsi à valoriser la recherche en médecine familiale après du public. En outre, AGAR prône une augmentation de financement destiné à la recherche en médecine familiale et en soins primaires.

  • Comité de recherche du Forum en médecine familiale

    Le Comité de recherche du Forum en médecine familiale (FMF) est responsable de l’organisation de toutes les activités liées à la recherche ayant lieu lors du FMF. Cela comprend la programmation, l’examen et l’approbation des propositions, l’évaluation des activités et la publication des comptes-rendus.

  • Réseaux de recherche basée sur la pratique (RRBP)

    Les RRBP sont des groupes de cliniciens en soins primaires et de pratiques qui travaillent en équipe pour répondre aux questions liées aux soins de santé communautaires et pour mettre en pratique les conclusions de recherche. Les RRBP favorisent la participation des cliniciens à des activités d’amélioration continue de la qualité et l’adoption d’une culture de la prise de décisions fondées sur les données probantes dans l’exercice des soins primaires pour améliorer la santé de tous.


Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le Conseil de la Section des chercheurs, sur la façon de rejoindre ses rangs ou d’intégrer l’un des groupes d’action, communiquez avec la SdC

Section of Researchers Council Orientation package (en anglais seulement)

Points saillants de la réunion 2020 du Conseil de la Section des chercheurs (les 4 et 5 février 2020) (en anglais seulement)

Pour joindre le président de la SdC

Quoi de neuf ?

Jeter des bases plus solides pour l’innovation en santé

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada continue de promouvoir l’importance primordiale de la recherche en soins primaires. Renseignez-vous sur nos initiatives actuelles concernant le financement des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le besoin d’un meilleur soutien pour la recherche en soins de santé primaires, soins à domicile et soins communautaires afin d’améliorer la santé de toute la population canadienne.

Proposition pour la création d’un Institut des soins de santé primaires, à domicile et communautaires intégrés des IRSC
Malgré l’importance critique des soins primaires, des soins à domicile et des soins communautaires pour la santé de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, moins de 3 pour cent du financement des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) est alloué aux soins primaires. En outre, la majeure partie de ce financement stratégique est d’une durée limitée et prendra bientôt fin.

La création d’un institut pour les soins primaires, à domicile et communautaires intégrés au sein des IRSC ferait du Canada un leader dans ces domaines de recherche. Cela permettrait par ailleurs de renforcer les capacités dans ces secteurs et, ainsi, de répondre aux besoins et aux défis émergents et à venir dans le secteur des soins de santé.

Veuillez lire et partager la proposition ci-dessous.

Énoncé de position du CMFC : Accès aux données du dossier médical électronique pour l’amélioration de la qualité et la recherche

La version 2.0 du Plan directeur de la Section des Chercheurs (SdC) visant la réussite de la recherche en médecine familiale (2018-2023)


Section des chercheurs

La Section des chercheurs (SdC) est la section du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) qui représente les membres qui ont un intérêt pour la recherche en soins primaires au Canada. Elle regroupe dans ses rangs des médecins de famille, des résidents, des étudiants en médecine et des chercheurs dans diverses professions et qui ont différentes expériences professionnelles, dont des chercheurs en début et en milieu de carrière, ainsi que des chercheurs chevronnés.

Ressources

Plan directeur 2 de la Section des chercheurs (2018-2023)

Prenant appui sur les succès du Plan directeur initial (2012-2017), le Plan directeur 2 de la Section des chercheurs (2018-2023) présente l’orientation stratégique qui guidera la SdC pour les quatre secteurs stratégiques prioritaires suivants :
 

Cog with Adhésion

Adhésion
Élargir notre bassin de membres et faire mieux connaître la recherche en soins primaires et la SdC auprès des médecins de famille, résidents et collègues des soins primaires demeurent des priorités stratégiques. Ce secteur prioritaire met l’accent sur l’accroissement de la valeur ajoutée de l’adhésion pour ses membres.

Cog with Renforcement des capacités

Renforcement des capacités
Cette priorité encourage les membres à participer aux activités de recherche plus tôt dans leur carrière, fait la promotion de la recherche et de l’utilisation des données pour la recherche et l’amélioration continue de la qualité (ACQ) en milieu de pratique et fait progresser la recherche basée sur de grands ensembles de données.

Cog with Plaidoyer

Plaidoyer
Ce secteur prioritaire accentue les efforts de plaidoyer visant à obtenir un meilleur financement et une meilleure infrastructure pour la recherche et l’ACQ en médecine de famille. La SdC poursuivra également le travail entrepris antérieurement dans le but d’assurer l’accès aux données des DME pour appuyer l’ACQ et la recherche en milieu de pratique.

Cog with Partenariats

Partenariats
La recherche sur les soins primaires est un effort concerté. Ce secteur prioritaire vise particulièrement le renforcement des partenariats existants et l’établissement de nouveaux liens, qui appuient bon nombre des autres objectifs du Plan directeur.

Le Plan directeur 2 présente un plan stratégique pour la SdC qui est utile et axé sur les membres. La mise en œuvre de ses objectifs encourage la recherche et l’ACQ, en plus de favoriser une culture de curiosité.

Plan directeur 2 de la Section des chercheurs (2018-2023)

Plan directeur visant la réussite de la recherche en médecine familiale 2012–2017

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.