Skip to Main Content

Pre-exam

 

Exam days

  • What is the format of the examination?

    There are two components of the examination:

    1. A written component consisting of computer-based short-answer management problems (SAMPs) 
    2. An oral component that consists of two structured oral stations: one triple or triage case and one case in which two patients are seen sequentially 
  • How long is the examination?

    Candidates will be involved in testing over two days of a three-day schedule. The written examination is six hours in length and takes place on day one. The oral component takes place on either day two or day three. 

  • What should I bring to the examination?

    You should only bring your entrance letter and personal identification (e.g., driver’s licence or passport). No personal items will be permitted in the examination room. You will be directed to place all your personal belongings such as keys, papers, wallets, cell phones, watches, coats, etc., in a designated area during the examination. While every effort will be made to store them safely, the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) is not responsible for your belongings. Please bring as few of them as possible. 

    Please note, you are not permitted to wear watches or electronic bracelets of any kind (i.e., digital, analogue or smartwatches) on exam day. Clocks will be provided in every oral examination room. 

    Food should not be consumed during the examination. However, for candidates with special dietary requirements, arrangements should be made with the College prior to the examination. If approved by the College, the food must be in a clear plastic bag. 

  • Can I get information about my performance on the oral exams from the examiner?

    No, examiners are not permitted to provide any information to you.

  • What should I do if I have a concern about my experience during the examination?

    If, during the course of the examination, you experience an irregularity in the process or an incident occurs that you believe may negatively impact your performance, you should bring this immediately to the attention of the responsible local authority. This will allow immediate action to be taken to resolve the situation if possible and the incident to be appropriately documented for future consideration by the Board of Exams and Certification. 

 

Post-exam

 

Scoring the exam

  • How is the exam scored and what comprises a “passing” score?

    Each candidate obtains a single total aggregate score on the short-answer management problem (SAMP) component and a single total aggregate score on the structured oral component. To pass a section, the candidate’s total aggregate score must be higher than the minimum passing score for that component. The minimum passing score applies to all candidates and is calculated relative to the performance of a group of reference candidates. This reference group is made up of graduates of Canadian family medicine residency programs who are sitting the examination for the first time. Candidates must obtain a passing score on both the SAMP and structured oral components to receive a Certificate of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine. The minimum passing score for each of the two components is different for each sitting of the exam, and in each case is approved by the Board of Examinations and Certification. 

  • Is it better to answer parts of a question that we know, or should we go to the questions that we can answer in full first?

    It is better to answer all the questions as best you can. If you leave a question blank, you cannot get any marks for that question. If you write something down, you might get some parts right, and score some points. 

  • What is the best way to score good marks on short-answer management problems (SAMPs)?

    The best advice is to read the questions very carefully. Make sure you understand what is being asked. Because these are short-answer questions, they are constructed to be targeted and to lead to specific answers rather than to general answers on the topic. If you read the scenarios carefully, and the questions, they should lead you to the right answers. You should read each question twice before choosing your answer, and make sure you give the answer that fits best with the case and the question. Follow the instructions in each question very carefully and give the number of answers requested.
  • How do I know which guidelines to study? Will I be penalized for staying current (i.e., studying the latest guidelines that were published after the examination content was set)?

    The answer keys to each exam instrument are determined by the Committee on Examinations – Emergency Medicine and other peers shortly before each examination, and they are based on the best current clinical experience and evidence available at that time. Marks on each question at the time of correction are determined by how well the candidate’s answers match the established answer keys. In the unlikely event that the “best” answers lose currency between the time of setting and the time of the examination, appropriate adjustments are made automatically in the marking stage. Therefore, candidates should always answer according to what represents the most accepted good practice of family medicine at the time of the examination. They will never be penalized for staying current.
  • Can I appeal my results or request a rescore of my examination if I suspect there was an error in scoring?

    Yes. All candidates have the right to appeal an unsuccessful result. An appeal can only be based on an error in process and not on the content of the examination. 

 

Language quality assurance

  • How does the CFPC ensure the quality of the translation of examination content?

    After a rigorous process of question development, the content is translated by an experienced certified medical translator (Step 1).

    The translated content then goes through a subsequent independent review by a native French-speaking bilingual physician who: has been involved in the development of the cases, is familiar with the context of the questions,  and employs the French medical terminology that Canadian French-speaking physicians use in their everyday practice (Step 2).

    Once the French-speaking physicians are satisfied with the translation, the content is then reviewed by the CFPC translation team in order to correct any typographical or grammatical errors (Step 3).

    The translated content is then reviewed once more (Step 4) after it has been transferred into the software that delivers the examination.  This step is done to ensure accurate presentation on the day of the examination.
  • What is the process of post-exam quality assurance of the translated content?

    Candidates’ written comments produced during and after the examination are analyzed to detect potential issues with questions.

    All French answers are scored by French-speaking physicians who are also able to identify potential quality issues with questions.

    As with the English questions during the marking process, any French questions, for which quality issues are raised, are reviewed individually and decisions are made as to whether those questions will be excluded from the examination. If a question is excluded because of performance concerns in one language, it is automatically excluded from the examination in the other language.

    Psychometric analyses ensure that the questions included in examination meet the expected performance standards. Specific attention is paid to any question where there is an inconsistency between English and French-speaking candidates’ performance metrics or scoring patterns.

    If an identified error or flaw in a question in either language is determined to have a potential effect on candidate performance, that question is removed from the examination content and the above-mentioned psychometrical analyses are re-done.
  • What is the process of quality improvement?

    The Committee on Examination – Emergency Medicine reviews feedback from four main sources to identify areas for improvement:
    • Examination results and results of post-examination analyses
    • The report and recommendations from the examination coordinators post-administration of both components of the examination detailing any incidents or problems that occurred
    • Written feedback from candidates
    • Written feedback from examiners
    All candidate comments regarding translation are shared with the CFPC translation team.  The College of Family Physicians of Canada participates on a joint committee with representation from RCPSC, MCC, CMQ, FMRQ, and university representations from Laval, Montreal, Calgary to try to develop standardized medical terminology lexicons.

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Avant l'examen

 

Jours d'examen

  • Quel format prendra l’examen ?

    L’examen comporte deux volets :

    1. Un volet écrit qui comprend des simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP)
    2. Un volet oral qui comprend deux entrevues médicales structurées (EMS) : un cas triple ou de triage et un cas où deux patients sont vus dans un ordre séquentiel
  • Combien de temps prendra l’examen ?

    L’examen se déroule sur trois jours, mais les candidats devront passer l’examen sur deux de ces trois jours.  L’examen écrit est d’une durée de six heures et se tient le premier jour. Le volet oral a lieu, soit la deuxième, soit la troisième journée.

  • Que me faut-il apporter à l’examen ?

    Vous devez apporter seulement votre lettre d’admissibilité et votre pièce d’identité (p. ex., permis de conduire ou passeport). Aucun article personnel ne sera autorisé dans la salle d’examen. On vous demandera de placer tous vos effets personnels tels que vos clés, vos papiers, votre portefeuille, votre téléphone cellulaire, votre montre, votre manteau, etc. dans un endroit désigné à cette fin pendant l’examen. Bien que tous les efforts soient déployés pour les conserver en toute sécurité, le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) n’est pas responsable de vos effets personnels. Veuillez en apporter le moins possible.

    Veuillez noter qu’il est strictement interdit de porter des montres ou bracelets électroniques de toute sorte (numériques, analogiques ou intelligentes) le jour de l’examen. Il y aura une horloge dans chaque salle d’examen d’EMS.

    La consommation d’aliments est interdite pendant l’examen. Toutefois, les candidats ayant des besoins alimentaires particuliers devront prendre des dispositions avec le Collège avant l’examen. Si le Collège accorde son approbation, les aliments devront être placés dans un sac en plastique transparent.

  • Puis-je obtenir la rétroaction de l’examinateur concernant ma performance à l’examen oral ?

    Non, les examinateurs ne sont pas autorisés à vous donner de l’information.

  • Que dois-je faire si j’ai des préoccupations au sujet de mon expérience durant l’examen ?

    Si, au cours de l’examen, vous constatez une irrégularité dans le processus ou si un incident se produit, qui selon vous, est susceptible de nuire à vos résultats, vous devez immédiatement en informer le responsable local de l’examen. Des mesures immédiates pourront ainsi être prises pour remédier à la situation si possible et l’incident sera documenté de manière appropriée pour examen ultérieur par le Bureau des examens et de la certification.

 

Après l’examen

 

Correction de l'examen

  • Comment l’examen est-il noté et quelle est la note de passage ?

    Chaque candidat reçoit une seule note globale pour le volet écrit et une seule note globale pour le volet oral. Pour réussir l’un des volets, la note globale du candidat doit être supérieure à la note minimale requise pour ce volet. La note de passage minimale s’applique à tous les candidats, et elle est calculée en fonction des résultats d’un groupe de candidats de référence. Ce groupe de référence est composé de diplômés des programmes de résidence en médecine familiale du Canada qui passent l’examen pour la première fois. Les candidats doivent recevoir une note de passage pour les volets de l’examen écrit et oral afin d’obtenir leur Certificat de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence. La note de passage minimale pour chacun des deux volets est différente pour chaque session de l’examen, et dans chaque cas, elle est approuvée par le Bureau des examens et de la certification.

  • Est-il préférable de répondre à la partie d’une question dont je connais la réponse ou devrais-je d’abord passer aux questions que je peux répondre en entier ?

    Nous vous conseillons de répondre de votre mieux à toutes les questions. Si vous ne répondez pas à une question, elle ne pourra pas être notée. Si vous écrivez une réponse, il se peut que vous répondiez correctement à une partie de la question, dans quel cas vous obtiendrez quelques points.

  • Quelle est la meilleure façon de procéder pour obtenir une bonne note au volet écrit ?

    Le plus important, c’est de lire les questions attentivement. Assurez-vous de bien les comprendre. Puisqu’il s’agit de questions abrégées, elles sont ciblées et visent une réponse précise plutôt qu’une réponse générale sur un sujet quelconque. Si vous lisez attentivement les scénarios puis les questions, vous devriez être en mesure de trouver les bonnes réponses. Lisez chaque question deux fois avant de choisir votre réponse, et assurez-vous de donner la réponse qui correspond le mieux au cas et à la question. Suivez les instructions pour chaque question à la lettre et donnez le nombre de réponses demandé. 

  • Comment savoir quels guides de pratique clinique étudier ? Serais-je pénalisé si je me tiens à jour (c.-à-d., si j’étudie les tout derniers guides publiés après que le contenu de l’examen a été rédigé) ?

    Les réponses à chaque question sont établies par le Comité des examens – Médecine d’urgence et par d’autres pairs un peu avant la tenue de l’examen. Elles sont basées sur l’expérience et les données cliniques actuelles à ce moment-là. Les notes attribuées à chaque question tiennent compte de la correspondance entre la réponse du candidat et la réponse établie. Dans l’éventualité où la « meilleure » réponse ne serait plus valide entre la date de rédaction de la question et la date de l’examen, les ajustements appropriés seraient effectués automatiquement à l’étape de la correction des examens. Les candidats devraient toujours répondre selon les meilleures pratiques généralement acceptées en médecine familiale au moment de l’examen. Ils ne seront jamais pénalisés pour avoir actualisé leurs connaissances.

  • Est-ce que je peux porter mes résultats en appel ou demander une révision de mon examen si je soupçonne une erreur de notation ?

    Oui. Tous les candidats ont le droit de porter leurs résultats en appel. Cette demande ne peut reposer que sur une irrégularité du processus d’évaluation et non sur le contenu de l’examen.

 

Assurance de la qualité linguistique

  • Comment le CMFC s’assure-t-il de la qualité de la traduction de l’examen ?

    Après un rigoureux processus de rédaction des questions, le contenu est traduit par une traductrice médicale certifiée chevronnée (1re étape).
    La traduction est ensuite révisée par un médecin de famille indépendant et bilingue, dont la langue maternelle est le français. Ce réviseur a également participé au processus de rédaction des cas, connaît bien le contexte des questions et emploie la terminologie médicale en français qui est utilisée par les médecins francophones canadiens dans leur pratique quotidienne (2e étape).
    Une fois que ce médecin-réviseur francophone approuve la traduction, le contenu est révisé par l’équipe de traduction du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) afin de corriger toute erreur typographique ou grammaticale (3e étape).
    Pour s’assurer de la qualité de la présentation le jour de l’examen, le contenu est ensuite révisé une dernière fois (4e étape) après qu’il a été téléchargé dans le logiciel utilisé pour administrer l’examen.
  • Quel est le processus d’assurance de la qualité de la traduction après l’examen ?

    Les commentaires que les candidats ont soumis par écrit avant et après l’examen sont analysés afin de détecter toute question problématique. Toutes les réponses en français sont notées par des médecins francophones qui sont également capables d’identifier d’éventuels problèmes de qualité concernant les questions.

    Selon le même processus que pour les questions en anglais, les questions en français dont la qualité a été remise en question durant la correction sont examinées individuellement et la décision de les éliminer de l’examen ou non est prise. Lorsqu’une question est exclue en raison de préoccupations en regard du taux de réussite dans l’une des langues, l’exclusion est automatiquement appliquée aussi à l’examen dans l’autre langue.

    Des analyses psychométriques assurent que les questions faisant partie de l’examen répondent aux normes de rendement prévues. Une attention particulière est portée à toute question qui relève une différence entre les mesures de rendement ou le schéma des résultats des candidats anglophones et francophones.

    Si on détermine qu’une erreur ou un problème dans une question, dans une langue ou l’autre, a pu avoir un effet sur le rendement des candidats, la question est éliminée et les analyses psychométriques susmentionnées sont effectuées de nouveau.
  • Quel est le processus d’amélioration de la qualité ?

    Le Comité des examens – Médecine d'urgence révise les commentaires provenant de quatre sources principales afin de déterminer les domaines à améliorer :

    • Les résultats à l’examen et les résultats des analyses effectuées après l’examen
    • Le rapport et les recommandations des coordonnateurs de l’examen portant sur les deux volets et faisant état de tout incident ou problème pendant l’examen
    • Les commentaires écrits des candidats
    • Les commentaires écrits des examinateurs

    Tous les commentaires des candidats concernant la traduction sont transmis à l’équipe de traduction du CMFC. Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada est membre d’un comité mixte sur l’élaboration de lexiques normalisés de terminologie médicale. Ce comité est composé de représentants du Collège royal, du CMC, du CMQ, de la FMRQ ainsi que de l’Université Laval, de l’Université de Montréal et de l’Université de Calgary.

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.