Skip to Main Content

Preparing for the Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine

Overview

Written and oral examination

The Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine is comprised of two components: a written examination and an oral examination. The content to be assessed in this examination is drawn from the Priority Topics in Emergency Medicine and the CAEP Ultrasound guidelines.

To help prepare for the exam:

  • Examination of Special Competence in Emergency Medicine Short-Answer Management Problems (SAMPs): The Committee on Examinations – Emergency Medicine authorized the release of short-answer management problems (SAMPs) used on previous examinations to help candidates prepare for the written Candidates should be aware that these SAMPs are from previous examinations and may not reflect current clinical practice.
  • Structure orals video: The Committee on Examinations – Emergency Medicine has produced a video demonstration of a structured oral, along with detailed instructions about what to expect and how to proceed in the oral examination.
  • The Canadian Library of Family Medicine (CLFM) has compiled a list of resources including conference, books, journals and Internet sites that help candidates keep up-to-date with developments in emergency medicine and to create a home study plan.

Home study

Study aids

It’s easy to study for the examination at home. Candidates can create an individual program of continuing medical education (CME) to fit into their schedule. There are many convenient ways of keeping up-to-date with developments in emergency medicine. A few of the most popular options are listed here.

Candidate Guide

  • Conferences

    A number of annual scientific meetings take place in Canada and abroad where related examination issues are discussed. Mainpro+® certified courses are listed on the continuing professional development (CPD) events calendar.

  • Books, manuals, multimedia

    Several comprehensive emergency medicine textbooks, board examination guides, and manuals are available. Prices listed are approximate.

    • Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support Provider (ACLS) and Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) textbooks and eLearning courses available at courses, from Channing Bete Company (distributor of American Heart Association Products), and at selected bookstores.
    • Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) manuals available at courses, and from the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma.
    • Howes DS, Gupta R, Waples-Trefil F, Pillow T, Tupesis J. First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Oral Boards: Emergency medicine oral board preparation and review. McGraw-Hill Professional; 2010.
    • Marx J, Adams J, Walls R, Rosen P, Hockberger R. Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Expert Consult Premium Edition. 2 vols. 7th ed. Mosby; 2009. Includes access to complete contents online.
    • Naderi S, Park R. Intensive Review for the Emergency Medicine Qualifying Examination. McGraw-Hill Professional; 2009. Includes CD-ROM.
    • Paul Olszynski, MD, MEd; Daniel J Kim, MD; Jordan Chenkin, MD; Louise Rang, MD, The CAEP Emergency Ultrasound Curriculum – Objectives and Recommendations for Implementation in Postgraduate Training
    • PEPID Emergency Physician Suite: point-of-care solutions that enable healthcare professionals to efficiently pinpoint diagnoses, treat diseases and medical conditions, detect harmful drug interactions and allergy sensitivities, accurately dose patients, and provide quality patient education; includes specialized clinical content, drug database, calculators, evidence-based medicine (EBM) resources. Available for various platforms.
    • Rivers C, ed. Preparing for the Written Board Exam in Emergency Medicine. 8th ed. Ohio: American College of Emergency Physicians; 2017. Other formats available include flashcards, PDAs, audiotape, CD-ROM, and combination packages. Available from Ohio American College of Emergency Physicians.
    • Schaider J, Barkin R, Hayden S, Wolfe R, Barkin AZ, Shayne P, et al. Rosen and Barkin’s 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult. 4th ed. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2010.
    • Strange GR, et al. Pediatric emergency medicine: a comprehensive study guide. 3rd ed. McGraw-Hill; 2009.
    • Strange GR. Pediatric emergency medicine: just the facts. 2nd New York: McGraw-Hill Education; 2011.
    • Tintinalli JE. Emergency medicine: a comprehensive study guide. 8th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill Professional; 2010.
  • Journals

    • Academic Emergency Medicine (AEM), official monthly publication of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) (online and print available). Wiley-Blackwell.
    • Annals of Emergency Medicine, an International Journal, on behalf  of the American College of Emergency Physicians (online and print available). Elsevier.
    • Canadian Journal of Emergency Medicine (CJEM/JCMU), official journal of the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians (published six times/year; articles less than one year old restricted to Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians (CAEP) members and subscribers).
    • Emergency Medicine Clinics of North America, quarterly from Elsevier Health Sciences Division (online and print available).
  • Online resources

    Here are emergency medicine sites that offer continuing professional development (CPD) listings and content, news, and other information:

    Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians (CAEP)

    American College of Emergency Physicians

    BestBETs: emergency medicine reviews developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, United Kingdom, with rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions.

    Medscape: articles on emergency medicine, published by WebMD.

    Canadian Library of Family Medicine: the College of Family Physicians of Canada’s (CFPC’s) library services; CFPC members can request free literature searches and full text articles. For more information, contact the library:

    Canadian Library of Family Medicine 
    The College of Family Physicians of Canada 
    2630 Skymark Avenue 
    Mississauga, ON L4W 5A4 
    [email protected]

Structured orals

Timing

The oral component of the Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine consists of three stations, each delivered by a single examiner, for a total of three independent stations; one 25-minute (triple case) and two 12-minute (single case) stations. The triple case station involves three sequential cases, delivered one after another. There is no triage component tested in that station.

At the beginning of each oral, the examiner will give you a written clinical scenario containing information about the patient presented as if you are just about to go see that patient. You should read the written scenario carefully out loud, after which the timer will be started. After that time, you may start writing out memory aids or patient assessment rubrics. The examiner will conduct your oral exam and score simultaneously as you proceed through the case. The examiner will prompt you through the exam to allow for efficient use of time.

Examiner Role

This examination is different from the Simulated Office Oral component of the Certification Examination in Family Medicine where the examiner plays the role of the patient. You do not need to act as you would in a regular doctor-patient interaction. The examiner will facilitate your progress through the case. Ask the examiner for the information you feel is important to determine how to care for this patient.

The examiner will provide you with answers to all questions about history, physical exams, investigations, consults, or any other relevant inquiry. The examiner will occasionally direct or redirect you to cover certain essential aspects of the case. Should the examiner say a certain aspect of the case is normal or non-contributory, you should accept this and move on to the next steps of your evaluation or management.

Marks for PROCESS of caring for patients

This is an examination of your medical PROCESS of caring for patients who present to the Emergency Department. You are being assessed on how you manage the patient, not just if you get the right diagnosis at the end. There are many points for identifying various facts that are used to arrive at a sound differential diagnosis and management plan, and much less for the specific diagnosis itself.

Try to verbalize as much of your thought process as possible. Summarize periodically. You may take notes as you proceed, perhaps to remember an item to follow up, but since time is limited, consider using your time to verbally communicate with the examiner about the patient scenario. There are no points given for notes written on your paper. Carefully describe the actions you are taking. Remember, the examiner can only score you on the things you actually verbalize.

Avoid a cookbook approach and instead follow lines of questioning, physical assessments and investigations that are tailored to the case at hand. In this examination, a good history is most essential, and the relevant physical exam and logical differential diagnosis are also paramount. Any further investigations and management are secondary to a solid assessment that reflects a good foundation in the overall process of care for emergency medicine. There are no negative points for wrong answers.

Interventions

In the cases presented to you, there will usually be nurses to assist you in the emergency department (ED), as well as the services of your hospital. You may delegate certain activities to other members of your team. Be very specific in the orders and interventions you require (e.g., “CT scan of the chest” is not the same as “CT pulmonary angiogram”). Monitor the ABCs and vital signs in an ongoing fashion as necessary to get a feel for the progression of each case. Ask for the results of your interventions and investigations when appropriate.

Interpretations

You may be shown some actual copies of test results of your investigations and then be asked for your interpretation of what is presented to do. Please do so carefully, but succinctly. Certain results may be normal. Most scenarios are practice-based and don’t focus on extremely rare or occult problems. If the final diagnosis is uncommon or rare, the key points are for how you get to the diagnosis, not necessarily for the management of the specific diagnosis. When listing your differential diagnoses, be complete but concise; mention the things you should be considering in this patient, at this time.
Be decisive in the way you conduct your evaluations and establish your setting so that you can gather the best information in the most efficient manner.

Disposition

Make certain to be direct and clear in your disposition of each case, ensuring each patient has a clearly articulated and transparent care plan that covers all the essentials and is well presented to your examiner. Ensure that each patient has a comprehensive plan that provides continuity of care, be it in-patient or as an out-patient. Remember to include family members or caretakers as well as primary care health professionals.

Interaction with others during the exam

The examiner is not allowed to give you any feedback on your performance. However, he or she will work with you during the exam to provide all the information necessary to manage each situation optimally.

You will be expected to be silent during the intervals between the oral examinations. Do not discuss the content of the oral examinations with other candidates, before, after or during the examination. Experience has shown that prior knowledge of the clinical content or case diagnoses of oral examinations has resulted in poorer performances than might otherwise have been expected. You will be best served in preparing for this oral examination by exploring a case-based approach with practice scenarios that reflect a similar process and structure.

Disclaimer: This video is only an example of an oral examination and is intended to help candidates better understand the nature and purpose of the oral exam. The candidate's performance reveals diverse interviewing skills, the patient-centered clinical method of evaluation, as well as skills assessed. It is not representative of a candidate who meets the level or performance required to meet Certificate of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine [CAC(EM)].

Short-answer management problems (SAMPs)

The SAMP component will be delivered on computers and will be held at Prometric Testing sites in Greater Toronto Area locations. Once the applications have been approved, candidates will be directed to a website where they will select the time and location for their testing appointment. Each testing appointment is seven hours in length; this includes two 3-hour testing windows and a 1-hour break.  Candidates should plan to arrive at their testing site 30 minutes prior to their appointment to allow for the check-in process. Follow the link entitled “What to expect” for a description of the registration process that occurs in all Prometric administered testing centers.

This short-answer management problem (SAMP) examination is intended to measure a candidate’s knowledge and problem-solving skills in the context of a clinical situation.

Candidates will receive basic information about the presentation of the patient and a series of questions will follow each scenario.

The video demonstration is designed to provide an orientation to the functionality and features of the Prometric testing interface candidates will use on exam day. 

For the most part, each question will require a single word, short phrase or short list as a response. Where appropriate, the number of desired responses will be indicated for each question. No credit will be given for responses which exceed the number of requested responses.

The Committee on Examinations – Emergency Medicine has authorized the release of some SAMPs from previous examinations to help candidates understand the format and prepare for the exam. The sample questions available here are from previous examinations and may not reflect current clinical practice.

As they work through the problems, it is imperative that candidates follow the directions carefully so that they receive full credit for responses. The examination is very clear about the manner in which candidates are expected to list or write responses. Deviation from instructions can result in lower scores.

Candidates should:

  • Note that for each case, the setting of practice will be described if relevant
  • Understand most questions can be answered in 10 words or less
  • Submit only the number of answers required (i.e., if asked to provide three responses and five are submitted, only the first three will be scored)
  • If directed to mention drugs, include dosages
  • Give details about procedures only if directed to do so

Candidate Instructions:

For each SAMP, the setting is an Emergency Department with tertiary-care capability, unless the setting is otherwise described.

When answering questions in this examination please read the question carefully and provide only the information that is requested.

You can answer most questions in ten words or less.

Where appropriate, the number of desired responses will be indicated for each question. The corresponding number of answer fields will be provided. 

Write only one answer in each field. Subsequent answers in the same field will not be considered. No credit will be given for responses which exceed the number of requested responses.

When listing medications, the use of generic names or trade names will be accepted

When providing values or measures only Systeme Internationale (SI) units will be accepted

Avoid abbreviations which are not commonly used and which may not be clear to an examiner

If your answer to a question is “none”, please type “none”. Do not leave the answer box empty

When the phrase “Be Specific” is added to the end of a question, include ample detail. Provide pertinent descriptions of tests or investigations (e.g. CT with contrast re: pulmonary embolism is different from CT with contrast re: aortic dissection; abdominal ultrasound is different from ultrasound guided paracentesis), and include medication doses and routes

Sample SAMPs

While there may be other acceptable answers, these sample answers demonstrate the correct way to answer SAMPs. Candidates should use these cases to become familiar with the examination format. Contact the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFCP) with any questions or concerns about SAMPs.

What to expect

Examination of Added Competence in Emergency Medicine Short Answer Management Problems (SAMPs): an example of sample answers acceptable to the Committee on Examinations – Emergency Medicine

Video Demonstration

SAMP Software Tutorial

Resources

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal

Préparation en vue de l’examen de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence

Survol

Examen oral et écrit

L’Examen de compétence en médecine d’urgence comporte deux volets : un examen écrit et un examen oral. Le contenu de l’examen s’appuie sur les Sujets prioritaires en médecine d’urgence.

Ressources utiles pour se préparer à l’examen :

  • Exemples de simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP) à l’Examen de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence : Le Comité des examens – Médecine d’urgence a autorisé la publication de simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP) utilisées dans les examens antérieurs afin d’aider les candidats à se préparer au volet écrit de l’examen. Par contre, il ne faut pas oublier que ces SAMP sont tirées d’examens antérieurs et pourraient donc ne pas refléter la pratique actuelle.
  • Vidéo de l’examen oral structuré : Le Comité des examens – Médecine d’urgence a créé sur vidéo une démonstration d’un examen oral structuré, accompagnée de commentaires sur le déroulement de l’examen et sur la bonne façon de passer les entrevues.
  • La Bibliothèque canadienne de médecine familiale a compilé une liste de ressources, dont les conférences, les livres, les périodiques et les sites Internet qui peuvent aider les candidats à rester au courant des développements en médecine d’urgence et à se créer un programme d’étude.

Préparation personnelle

Aides à l’étude

Il est facile de se préparer chez soi à l’examen. Les candidats peuvent créer leur propre programme de formation médicale continue (FMC) et l’adapter à leur horaire. Il existe différents moyens pratiques de rester à la fine pointe des récents développements en médecine d’urgence. Voici une liste des options les plus populaires.

Guide du candidat

  • Conférences

    Un certain nombre d’assemblées scientifiques se tiennent chaque année au Canada et à l’étranger, où l’on discute d’enjeux liés à la matière à l’examen. Vous trouverez la liste des cours donnant droit à des crédits Mainpro+MD sur le calendrier des activités de développement professionnel continu (DPC) à venir.

  • Livres et manuels de référence et matériel multimédia

    Plusieurs manuels de référence sur la médecine d’urgence et des guides sur les examens sont offerts.

    • Manuels et cours en ligne de soins avancés en réanimation cardiovasculaire (SARC) et de soins avancés en réanimation pédiatrique (SARP) : Disponibles lors de cours de formation, auprès de Channing Bete Company (distributeur des produits de l’American Heart Association Products) et dans certaines librairies
    • Manuels de soins avancés en réanimation traumatologique (SART) : Disponibles lors de cours de formation et auprès du Comité des traumas de l’American College of Surgeons
    • Howes DS, Gupta R, Waples-Trefil F, Pillow T, Tupesis J. First aid for the emergency medicine oral boards: Emergency medicine oral board preparation and review. McGraw-Hill Professional; 2010
    • Marx J, Adams J, Walls R, Rosen P, Hockberger R. Rosen’s emergency medicine: concepts and clinical practice. 7e éd. Mosby, 2009. Ensemble de 2 vol. ; comprend l’accès au contenu intégral en ligne
    • Naderi S, Park R. Intensive Review for the Emergency Medicine Qualifying Examination. McGraw-Hill Professional; 2009. Comprend le CD-ROM
    • Paul Olszynski, MD, MEd; Daniel J Kim, MD; Jordan Chenkin, MD; Louise Rang, MD, The CAEP Emergency Ultrasound Curriculum – Objectives and Recommendations for Implementation in Postgraduate Training (en anglais seulement)
    • PEPID Emergency Physician Suite : Solutions cliniques permettant aux professionnels de la santé de poser des diagnostics précis, de soigner diverses maladies et affections, de détecter les interactions médicamenteuses et les allergies susceptible de nuire à la santé, d’administrer les doses appropriées aux patients et de leur fournir de l’information de qualité ; comprend du contenu clinique spécialisé, une base de données de médicaments, des calculatrices et des ressources de médecine factuelle. Accessible sur de nombreuses plateformes
    • Rivers C, éd. Preparing for the Written Board Exam in Emergency Medicine. 8e éd. Ohio : American College of Emergency Physicians; 2017. Disponible en d’autres formats, y compris des cartes-éclair, des assistants numériques, une cassette audio, un CD-ROM et des trousses combinant plusieurs formats. Disponible auprès de l’Ohio American College of Emergency Physicians
    • Schaider J, Barkin R, Hayden S, Wolfe R, Barkin AZ, Shayne P et coll. Rosen and Barkin’s 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult. 4e éd. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2010
    • Strange GR et coll. Pediatric emergency medicine: a comprehensive study guide. 3e éd. McGraw-Hill; 2009
    • Strange GR. Pediatric emergency medicine: just the facts. 2e éd. New York : McGraw-Hill Education; 2011
    • Tintinalli JE. Emergency medicine: a comprehensive study guide. 8e éd. New York : McGraw-Hill Professional; 2010
  • Périodiques

  • Ressources sur le Web

    Voici des sites Web portant sur la médecine d’urgence où sont affichées des activités de DPC, ainsi que de la documentation, des actualités et d’autres renseignements utiles :

    Association canadienne des médecins d’urgence (ACMU)

    Association des médecins d’urgence du Québec (AMUQ)

    American College of Emergency Physicians

    BestBETs : revues de littérature en médecine d’urgence produites par le département de médecine d’urgence de la Manchester Royal Infirmary, au Royaume-Uni, pour fournir des réponses rapides de médecine factuelle à des questions cliniques concrètes.

    Medscape : articles sur la médecine d’urgence, publiés par WebMD.

    Bibliothèque canadienne de médecine familiale : La bibliothèque du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) ; les membres du CMFC ont droit gratuitement à des recherches documentaires et à des articles en version intégrale. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec la bibliothèque :

    Bibliothèque canadienne de médecine familiale
    Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada
    2630, avenue Skymark
    Mississauga (ON)  L4W 5A4 
    [email protected]

Examen oral structuré

 

Horaire

La composante orale de l’Examen de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence comprend trois stations, chacune dirigée par un seul examinateur, pour un total de trois stations indépendantes ; une de 25 minutes (cas triple) et deux de 12 minutes (cas simple). La station du cas triple comprend trois cas en séquence, présentés un après l’autre. Il n’y a pas d’évaluation de triage dans cette station.

Au début de chaque oral, l’examinateur vous donnera un scénario clinique par écrit contenant l’information au sujet du patient qui sera présenté comme si vous étiez sur le point d’aller voir ce patient. Vous devriez lire le scénario écrit attentivement à voix haute, après quoi le chrono sera lancé. Après ce temps, vous pouvez commencer à écrire à des aide-mémoire ou des rubriques d’évaluation du patient. L’examinateur dirigera votre examen oral et évaluera simultanément votre rendement à mesure que vous progressez avec le cas. L’examinateur vous guidera pendant l’examen pour faciliter la gestion efficace de votre temps.

Rôle d’examinateur

Cet examen est différent de la composante orale simulée de l’Examen de certification en médecine familiale, dans lequel l’examinateur joue le rôle du patient. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’agir comme si vous étiez dans une interaction médecin-patient. L’examinateur dirigera votre progression tout au long du cas. Demandez à l’examinateur l’information que vous jugez importante afin de déterminer la meilleure façon de traiter ce patient.

L’examinateur vous fournira des réponses à toutes les questions au sujet de l’anamnèse, des examens physiques, des recherches, des consultations ou de toute autre demande pertinente. À l’occasion, il vous guidera ou vous réorientera afin que vous puissiez couvrir certains aspects essentiels du cas présenté. Si l’examinateur indique qu’un certain aspect du cas est normal ou qu’il ne contribue pas au diagnostic, vous devriez l’accepter et passer aux étapes suivantes de l’évaluation ou de la gestion.

Notes pour le PROCESSUS de la prise en charge du patient

Il s’agit d’un examen de votre PROCESSUS médical de prise en charge des patients qui se présentent au service d’urgence. Vous êtes évalués sur votre prise en charge du patient, pas seulement si vous obtenez le bon diagnostic à la fin. Il y a plusieurs points pour l’identification de divers faits qui sont utilisés pour arriver à un diagnostic différentiel et un plan de prise en charge que le médecin peut justifier, et moins de points pour le diagnostic précis comme tel.
 
Essayez de verbaliser le plus possible votre processus de pensée. Résumez le cas périodiquement. Vous pouvez prendre des notes à mesure que vous procédez, par exemple pour ne pas oublier de faire un suivi, mais comme le temps est limité, essayez d’utiliser votre temps pour communiquer verbalement avec l’examinateur au sujet du cas du patient. Il n’y a pas de points accordés pour les notes écrites sur votre papier. Décrivez soigneusement vos interventions. N’oubliez pas que l’examinateur ne peut vous accorder des points que sur ce que vous lui dites.

Évitez l’approche du livre de recettes et suivez les lignes de questions, les évaluations physiques et les investigations qui visent précisément le cas présenté. Dans cet examen, une bonne anamnèse est essentielle, et l’examen physique pertinent et un diagnostic différentiel logique sont également primordiaux. Tout autre test ou toute prise en charge additionnelle suit une évaluation solide qui montre de bonnes bases dans le processus global de soins en médecine d’urgence. Il n’y a pas de points négatifs pour les mauvaises réponses.

Interventions

Dans les cas qui vous sont présentés, vous pouvez généralement compter sur l’aide d’infirmières du service des urgences, ainsi que sur les services offerts par l’hôpital. Vous pouvez déléguer certaines tâches à d’autres membres de votre équipe. Soyez très précis dans les ordres que vous donnez et les interventions que vous demandez (p. ex., « tomo du thorax » n’est pas la même chose que « tomoangiographie pulmonaire »). Surveillez l’état des voies respiratoires, de la respiration et de la circulation (ABC — airway, breathing, circulation) ainsi que les signes vitaux de façon continue au besoin pour avoir une idée de l’évolution de chaque cas. Demandez les résultats de vos interventions et de vos examens, s’il y a lieu.

Interprétations

On pourrait vous montrer des copies des résultats aux tests demandés dans vos investigations et vous demander d’interpréter ces résultats en vertu du cas présenté. Faites-le avec soin, mais succinctement. Certains résultats pourraient être normaux.

La plupart des scénarios sont fondés sur la pratique et ne portent pas spécifiquement sur des problèmes extrêmement rares ou latents. Si le diagnostic final est inhabituel ou rare, les points importants pour vous visent plutôt la façon dont vous en êtes arrivés à ce diagnostic et pas nécessairement la prise en charge de ce diagnostic précis. Lorsque vous établissez les diagnostics différentiels, ils doivent être complets mais concis ; mentionnez les éléments dont vous devriez tenir compte pour ce patient, à ce moment.

Faites preuve de fermeté pendant vos évaluations et gérez la situation de manière à pouvoir obtenir les renseignements les plus pertinents, et ce, le plus efficacement possible.

Disposition

Exprimez clairement et directement les instructions relatives au cheminement de chaque cas, assurez-vous que chaque patient a un plan d’intervention bien articulé et transparent, qui contient tous les points essentiels, et prenez soin de bien le présenter à votre examinateur. Veillez à ce que chaque patient ait un plan complet qui prévoit le suivi des soins, que ce soit à l’hôpital ou en consultation externe. N’oubliez pas d’inclure les membres de la famille ou les soignants ainsi que les professionnels de la santé de soins primaires.

Interaction avec les autres pendant l’examen

L’examinateur n’est pas autorisé à vous donner une rétroaction sur votre performance. Pendant l’examen, il veillera à vous fournir toute l’information dont vous aurez besoin pour assurer une gestion optimale de chaque situation.

Vous devez garder le silence entre vos séances d’examen. Ne parlez pas du contenu des examens oraux avec les autres candidats avant, pendant et après l’examen. Il a été démontré que les candidats qui connaissaient d’avance le contenu clinique ou les diagnostics des examens oraux avaient des résultats plus faibles qu’on aurait pu le prévoir. Pour bien vous préparer en vue de l’examen oral, étudiez cette approche basée sur des cas cliniques avec des scénarios pratiques qui tiennent compte d’un processus et d’une structure similaires.

Examen oral structuré

Clause de non-responsabilité : La présente vidéo n’est qu’un exemple d’examen oral, produit pour aider les candidats à mieux comprendre la nature et le but de l’examen oral. Dans l’exemple, la performance du candidat illustre des compétences d’entrevue diverses, la méthode d’évaluation clinique centrée sur le patient ainsi que les compétences évaluées. Toutefois, la vidéo n’est pas représentative d’un candidat dont le niveau de compétence ou la performance répond aux critères requis pour obtenir le Certificat de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence [CCA(MU)].

Simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP)

Le volet des SAMP sera mené par ordinateur et aura lieu à des sites d’examen de Prometric dans la région du Grand Toronto. Une fois les demandes approuvées, les candidats seront dirigés vers un site Web ou ils pourront sélectionner la date et le lieu de leur rendez-vous pour passer l’examen. L’examen dure sept heures ; cela comprend deux sessions de trois heures chacune, et une pause d’une heure. Les candidats devraient prévoir d’arriver au centre d’examen 30 minutes avant leur rendez-vous afin de laisser assez de temps pour les procédures d’enregistrement. Pour une description du processus d’inscription et des démarches à suivre dans tous les centres d’examen Prometric, cliquez sur le lien « À quoi s’attendre ».

Les SAMP sont conçues pour mesurer les connaissances du candidat et sa capacité à résoudre des problèmes dans le contexte d’une situation clinique.

Les candidats recevront des renseignements de base résumant la situation du patient, suivis d’une série de questions portant sur chacun des scénarios.

La vidéo de démonstration est conçue pour fournir une orientation sur les fonctionnalités de l’interface de test Prometric que les candidats utiliseront le jour de l’examen.

Dans la plupart des cas, les réponses seront brèves, ne nécessitant qu’un seul mot, une courte phrase ou une courte liste. S’il y a lieu, le nombre de réponses désirées sera indiqué pour chaque question. Aucun point ne sera accordé pour les réponses qui dépassent le nombre demandé.

Pour aider les candidats à comprendre le format de l’examen et à s’y préparer, le Comité des examens – Médecine d’urgence a autorisé la diffusion de certaines SAMP utilisées lors d’examens antérieurs. Il se peut que ces exemples de questions ne reflètent plus les pratiques cliniques actuelles.

Lorsque les candidats répondent aux questions de l’examen, il est primordial qu’ils suivent attentivement les directives, sans quoi ils risquent de ne pas recevoir tous les points pour leurs réponses. L’examen précise très clairement la façon dont les candidats devraient dresser leurs listes ou écrire leurs réponses. Le non-respect de ces directives peut entraîner des résultats inférieurs.

Voici quelques renseignements et directives supplémentaires à l’intention des candidats :

  • Dans chaque cas, le milieu de pratique sera décrit s’il est pertinent
  • On peut répondre à la plupart des questions en dix mots ou moins
  • Il faut donner uniquement le nombre de réponses demandé (p. ex., si la question précise qu’il faut donner trois réponses et que le candidat en donne cinq, seules les trois premières seront corrigées)
  • Si la question demande d’indiquer des médicaments dans la réponse, il faut aussi indiquer les dosages
  • Donner les détails d’une intervention est seulement nécessaire si la question le demande

Instructions aux candidats :

Pour chaque SAMP, le milieu de pratique est un service d’urgence avec capacité d’offrir des soins tertiaires, à moins que le milieu soit décrit autrement.

Avant de répondre aux questions de cet examen, veuillez les lire attentivement et ne donnez que les renseignements requis.

Vous pouvez répondre à la plupart des questions en moins de 10 mots.

Au besoin, le nombre de réponses désirées sera indiqué pour chaque question. Le nombre de champs de réponse sera fourni.

N’écrivez qu’une seule réponse dans chaque champ. Les réponses additionnelles dans un même champ ne seront pas évaluées. Aucun crédit ne sera accordé pour les réponses qui dépassent le nombre demandé.

En énumérant les médicaments, utilisez les noms génériques ou des noms de marque.

Seules les unités du système international (SI) sont acceptées pour les réponses se rapportant à des valeurs ou à des mesures.

Évitez d’employer des abréviations rarement utilisées et que l’examinateur ne reconnaîtrait pas.

Si vous souhaitez répondre « Aucun(e) » à une question, veuillez taper « Aucun ». Ne laissez aucune case-réponse vide.

Lorsque la mention « Soyez précis » est ajoutée à la fin d’une question, veuillez inclure suffisamment de détails. Fournissez des descriptions pertinentes des tests ou des investigations (p. ex., « Tomo avec produit de contraste pour une embolie pulmonaire » est différent de « Tomo avec produit de contraste pour une dissection aortique » ; « Échographie abdominale » est différent de « Paracentèse guidée par échographie »), et inscrivez toutes les doses de médicaments et les voies d’administration.

Exemples de SAMP

Bien que d’autres réponses puissent être jugées acceptables, ces réponses aux SAMP illustrent la manière adéquate de répondre aux questions. Les candidats sont invités à se servir de ces problèmes pour se familiariser avec la forme de l’examen. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations concernant le volet écrit de l’examen, communiquez avec le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC).

À quoi s’attendre

Exemples de simulations cliniques écrites abrégées (SAMP) à l’Examen de compétence additionnelle en médecine d’urgence : des exemples de réponses jugées acceptables par le Comité des examens – Médecine d’urgence

Démonstration vidéo

Tutoriel pour le logiciel des SAMP

Ressources

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.